answersLogoWhite

0

No, in Chess, kings cannot capture kings. First, kings can not be captured; they can only be checkmated. Second, kings cannot deliver check to the opposing king.

Kings also can't get right next to each other diagonally, horizontally, or vertically.

A king may capture another chessmen other than the opposing king but cannot move into check according to the rules .

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

BlakeBlake
As your older brother, I've been where you are—maybe not exactly, but close enough.
Chat with Blake
CoachCoach
Success isn't just about winning—it's about vision, patience, and playing the long game.
Chat with Coach
ViviVivi
Your ride-or-die bestie who's seen you through every high and low.
Chat with Vivi
More answers

YES.

If your King is adjacent to another piece, it may capture it.

In fact, as the game approaches the end and fewer pieces remain on the board, the King becomes a very powerful piece.

Because it is one of the few pieces that can move in every direction, better players use their Kings aggressively in the endgame.

--CM

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In chess can kings capture kings?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp