Best Answer

It depends on whether you mean the coach with the most wins (longevity stat) or the coach with the highest percentage of wins in his career. Paterno is the leader among active coaches in number of wins. Although technically he is no longer active as of end of 2011.

Highest win percentage will depend on how many seasons you set as the minimum for the stat. Obviously a coach could be 100% after 1 season, so it makes sense to set a bar of at least 5 or 10 seasons.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who is the winningest active coach in Division 1 football?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Winningest active college football coach?

Bob Ford. University at Albany. Division 1-AA FCS

Who the winningest coach in college football division 1?

Knute Rockne with a record of 105 wins, 12 losses and 5 ties

Who are the most winningest coaches in Pa high school football?

Coach George Curry from Berwick is the winningest coach in PA history.

Which active football division one coach has the most championships?

Bob stoops

Mississippi's winningest football coach in high school?

jim drewery

Alabama's winningest football coach in high school?

Kenneth McKinney

Who is currently the winningest college football coach?

NFL: Don Shula.

Who is the winningest Pennsylvania high school football coach?

George Curry - Berwick

Which coach became the winningest coach in NFL history while with the Dolphins?

Which coach became the winningest coach in NFL history while with the Dolphins

Who won the Sportsman of the Year Award in 1993?

1993 Don Shula Professional football Winningest NFL coach

Who is the winningest coach in Atlanta Falcons history?

Dan Reeves is the winningest coach in Atlanta Falcon history with 49 wins.

Was FA Dry the first minority head football coach in division one football since he was a member of the Cherokee tribe?

If by division one football you actually mean the Football Bowl Subdivision (at the time known as I-A), then FA Dry may be the first. He first became a head coach at Tulsa in 1972. That predates Willie Jeffries, who was the first African-American head coach at a I-A school, coaching at Wichita State in 1979. There have been many African American head coaches at the Historically Black Colleges and Universities, many of which are now at the Football Championship Subdivision (previously I-AA). Since Joe Paterno has had 111 wins vacated, Eddie Robinson is considered by the NCAA to be the winningest coach in division one football history, having started as the head coach of Grambling in 1941. Grambling is in the Southwestern Athletic Conference at the FCS level.