Best Answer


User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Which series was the Ashes urn presented to the English Cricket team?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Why did this ashes series take place?

why did this current cricket ashes series take place

Which country participates in the Ashes Cricket series?

Ashes Test series is played between Australia and England.

Who presented The Ashes in a terracotta urn to the English captain during the 1882-1883 series in Australia?

a group of Melbourne women

The Australian and English cricket trophy?

The Ashes

What is the dispute about the cricket ashes urn?

a English cricketers ashes were taken to Australia

When was the Ashes Urn presented?

I believe that would be 1882, if you're asking when it was first presented. It is named after a satirical obituary published in an English newspaper, The Sporting Times, in 1882 after the match at The Oval in which Australia beat England on an English ground for the first time. The obituary stated that English cricket had died, and the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia.

Where did the Ashes cricket was held?

ashes is a test series played between Australia and England and in both the countries

What is the story behind ashes test series?

England lost a series against Australia back in the 1800s and a death notice ad appeared in a london newspaper signifying the death of English cricket and the ashes would be brought back to Australia. The writer of this notice had a small urn that contained a bail (small wooden piece above wickets) burned to ashes signifying the death of English cricket. Therefore the ashes was born and Australia has won the majority of the contests since- so English cricket really did die. Someone remind them to stop inventing sports they can't win!!

What is ashes cup in cricket?

The Ashes is a Test cricket series, played between England and Australia. It is one of international cricket's most celebrated rivalries and dates back to 1882. It is currently played biennially, alternately in England and Australia. A series of "The Ashes" now comprises five Test matches, two innings per match, under the regular rules for international Test-match cricket. If a series is drawn then the country already holding the Ashes retains them.

What teams are on ashes cricket 09?

Ashes is a legendary cricket series that is played between Australia and England. The series has a great history and great captains like Ian Botham, Alain Border etc have contributed to their sides victory in the Ashes tournament. England and Australia are the two teams in Ashes 09

Whose ashes are in the Ashes trophy?

They aren't the ashes of a person. The tradition is that it is the ashes of the bails from the wickets of the first Ashes test. The name came from a editorial of a newspaper saying (after an English defeat) that English cricket had died and the ashes sent to Australia.

What is the test cricket series played between Australia and England called?

The Ashes.