answersLogoWhite

0

Usually the third holds the broom while the skip throws. That's why the third is also called the "vice skip." The third holds the broom because he or she is usually the next most experienced person on the team, after the skip.

Really, though, there aren't any rules about who must hold the broom, when. The lead could hold the broom the whole game (except when he's shooting, of course) if that's what the team wanted.

On some teams, the third might actually be better at "calling ice" (showing where to aim) or making sweeping calls, so they might have the third hold the broom throughout the game, instead of the skip.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

FranFran
I've made my fair share of mistakes, and if I can help you avoid a few, I'd sure like to try.
Chat with Fran
BeauBeau
You're doing better than you think!
Chat with Beau
CoachCoach
Success isn't just about winning—it's about vision, patience, and playing the long game.
Chat with Coach

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When the skip throws does the lead hold the broom?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp