answersLogoWhite

0

There is no law about passing a ball backwards to the goal keeper. Direction is completely unimportant.

If a player makes a pass with the foot to their own goal keeper, in any direction, then the goal keeper may not touch the ball with their hands. The consequence is an indirect free kick restart for the opponents where the goal keeper picked it up.

A deflection would not be considered such a pass. It would have to be a deliberate play by the defender.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

JordanJordan
Looking for a career mentor? I've seen my fair share of shake-ups.
Chat with Jordan
BeauBeau
You're doing better than you think!
Chat with Beau
TaigaTaiga
Every great hero faces trials, and you—yes, YOU—are no exception!
Chat with Taiga

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the rule about passing back to the goalkeeper?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp