When an indirect free kick is awarded, the referee will raise one arm straight up, similar to an Ice Hockey referee indicating a delayed penalty. The referee will maintain this position until the ball has been put in play and subsequently touched by another player or goes out of bounds. A goal cannot be scored while the referee's arm is in the air for this reason. The arm acts as a visual reminder that the free kick is indirect.
Direct free kicks do not have any sort of arm-raised signal. After the kick is awarded, generally by pointing to the spot of the ball and the direction of travel, the referee will lower his arms, take a good position to monitor the ensuing play, and wait with arms down.
Chat with our AI personalities