As in a forward pass?? No. It is still live if it does not touch the ground. ANSWER: A football remains a live ball if it strikes an official in the field of play. If an official is out of bounds when the ball touches him/her, then the ball is deemed to be out of bounds. Yes and no. The officials are considered an extension of the field. Therefore, if a forward pass strikes an official, it's the same as if the ball hit the ground -- it's dead. I've seen games before where a forward pass hit an umpire, and the play was immediately whistled over.
If a backwards pass or a loose ball hits an official, it would therefore still be a live ball, since hitting the ground doesn't normally kill a ball under those circumstances.
No ... if the shoulder, elbow, forearm, or wrist touch the ground the ball carrier is also considered down.
In the first days of football when a ball carrier crossed the goal line he would touch the ball to the ground. The touching of the ball to the ground for the score was called a "TOUCHDOWN". This rule still applies in rugby, where a player doesn't score unless he touches the ball to the ground.
A player is considered down in football when any part of their body, other than their hands or feet, touches the ground while in possession of the ball.
When the ball touches the ground.
Each football league will have its own rules and regulations which may differ compared to other leagues.In other words, it depends on which league one is asking about.
A football player is considered down on the field when any part of their body, other than their hands or feet, touches the ground while in possession of the ball.
A player is considered down in college football when any part of their body, other than their hands or feet, touches the ground while in possession of the ball.
Out? What else?
It is where you don' let the ball hit the ground but in volley-ball you lose the point if it touches the ground anyway!!!
If the ball touches the ground, the runner is down. This is why 'the ground cannot cause a fumble.'
If it's a fly ball, it depends on where it first touches the ground; if it first touches in fair territory, it's a fair ball; if it first touches in foul territory, it's a foul ball. If it's a bounding (bouncing) ball and, in the umpire's judgment, it crosses over third base, it would be a fair ball no matter where it first touched the ground.
The ball is not "out of bounds" unless the ball or the player who possesses it touches the ground in an out of bounds area. So in the case where the ball is in flight over the sideline, and a player who is inbounds catches it and demonstrates control before stepping out, the pass is complete.