answersLogoWhite

0

In Major League Baseball, yes. There is a rule called the 'Uncaught Third Strike' rule. This rule states that if the catcher does not cleanly catch the pitched ball that results in a third strike, the batter may run to first base as if the ball were hit. If the batter reaches first base before the ball, the batter is awarded the base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

17y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

SteveSteve
Knowledge is a journey, you know? We'll get there.
Chat with Steve
ViviVivi
Your ride-or-die bestie who's seen you through every high and low.
Chat with Vivi
LaoLao
The path is yours to walk; I am only here to hold up a mirror.
Chat with Lao
More answers

Yes, if the batter fails to touch a base while running. The defensive team could appeal and have the runner called out at the base that was missed. In that case the run would be taken off the board.

-----------------------------

The above answer is not correct. If the batter is called out on an appeal for missing a base or passing a runner it's no longer a home run. Tim McCarver was hit a grand slam but passed Garry Maddox between first and second so McCarver was called out. He was credited with a 3 RBI single. The only way to hit a home run but not score is to get hurt while running the bases. MLB rules allow for "dead ball" pinch runner. The pinch runner will be credited with the run but the batter would still get his homer.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Yes it is posible. If a batter is to hit it into left field which would normally get him a single, but he also tries for second and is thrown out trying to get to second it will count as a single even though the runner is out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

You cannot run out of any base line. There is a three foot clearance for the runner in case he has to run around a fielder. It is the umpire's decision whether a runner goes out of the base line or not. The rule is more in effect for the other bases, as a runner will try to slide into the fielder to break up a double play.

The previous answer is incorrect. A runner may run anywhere he pleases. He would only be out for deviating from his baseline in order to avoid a tag.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
User Avatar

You can be walked, hit by a pitch, get on by fielder error, get on by catcher's interference.

User Avatar

Wiki User

17y ago
User Avatar

yes, if there are two outs

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How do you get to first base without getting a hit?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp