Best Answer

Rule 8.01 Legal Pitching Delivery goes into detail about the only two legal pitching positions (the set position and the wind-up) but the short answer is yes, not only must the pitcher be touching the mound, his foot must be touching the pitcher's plate (or rubber) until the ball is delivered to the batter.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

in ASA rules yes in USSSA softball rules no

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

No, you can not lead off the bases in slow-pitch softball. You can't even lead off the bases in fast-pitch softball.You have to wait until the ball passes the home plate.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does the pitcher need to touch the mound while pitching?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Can a pitcher lick his fingers in little league?

the pitcher is allowed to lick his fingers only while off the entire pitching circle (all the dirt around the mound). if the pitcher is caught licking his fingers on the mound, it is considered a Balk and eith a ball is awarded to the batter (no men on base) or the runners on base are allowed to advance.AnswerRule 8.02 of The Official Rules of Baseball:" The pitcher shall not --(a) (1) Bring his pitching hand in contact with his mouth or lips while in the 18 foot circle surrounding the pitching rubber. EXCEPTION: Provided it is agreed to by both managers, the umpire prior to the start of a game played in cold weather, may permit the pitcher to blow on his hand.PENALTY: For violation of this part of this rule the umpires shall immediately call a ball. However, if the pitch is made and a batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a hit batsman or otherwise, and no other runner is put out before advancing at least one base, the play shall proceed without reference to the violation. Repeated offenders shall be subject to a fine by the league president. "The penalty for a pitcher licking his fingers on the mound is a ball. If the batter has 3 balls on him this would be considered the fourth ball and the batter would be credited with a base on balls. There is no penalty for a pitcher licking his fingers while not on the pitching mound as long as he wipes his fingers off prior to stepping onto the pitching mound.update:starting with the 2010 season, a pitcher can go to his mouth while on the mound as long as he is not on the rubber, and he makes an obvious motion of whiping his hand on pants before returning to the mound. This was changed in order to speed up the game

Is it considered a visit to the mound if a coach goes to the mound while a pitcher is warming up between innings?

Yes. The only time a manager can go to the mound and it not be considered a visit is if the manager believes his pitcher is injured. In that case the home plate umpire will accompany the manager to the mound and listen to the entire conversation to ensure that the manager and pitcher are not talking strategy but solely about how the pitcher is feeling.

What is the height of the pitcher's mound in baseball?

The top of the rubber on the pitchers mound is to be no higher than ten inches (25.4 cm) above home plate. From 1903 through 1968, this height limit was set at 15 inches, but was often slightly higher, sometimes as high as 20 inches (50.8 cm), especially for teams that emphasized pitching, such as the Los Angeles Dodgers, who were reputed to have the highest mound in the majors. A higher mound usually works in favor of the pitcher.

What is the name for the pitcher's mound rubber?

It is called the rubber. Slab is the slang word for the pitcher's rubber. If you were to go to a sporting goods store to buy one, you would ask for a pitcher's rubber.Another answer:The proper name is the pitcher's plate.

Which pitcher in the MLB breaks the most baseball bats while pitching?

Mariano Rivera

Can a college baseball player Re enter a game?

Nope, but what you can do is pull a fielder in another position and temporarily have the current pitcher play in that position while another pitcher fills in at the mound. After the new pitcher is done he can be pulled, the original pitcher can be moved back to the mound, and another player put in the position he was in.

Who was the relief pitcher for kansas city that came to the mound while thank god I'm a country boy played?

Dom Elefino?

Can a baseball pitcher be subistuted or replaced while pitching to a hitter?

yes they can be replaced at any time

Can a pitcher wear eye black while pitching?

yes so the sun doesn't bother him.

If a coach goes on the field while his team is playing defense does it count as a visit to the mound?

Not necessarily. He could be arguing a call. If he talks to the pitcher, though. There probably is an infraction.Here is part of the rule: A manager or coach is considered to have concluded his visit to the mound when he leaves the 18-foot circle surrounding the pitcher's rubber.Rule 8.06 Comment: If the manager or coach goes to the catcher or infielder and that player then goes to the mound or the pitcher comes to him at his position before there is an intervening play (a pitch or other play) that will be the same as the manager or coach going to the mound.

Can a runner on third base score if the catcher walks to the mound to talk to the pitcher?

No, because the catcher asks the umpire for time out and is granted time out before he visits the pitcher. No runner may advance while time is out.

What is considered a trip to the mound?

A "trip" or "visit" to the mound is an actual baseball rule, not baseball announcer slang. Rule 8.06 reads:A professional league shall adopt the following rule pertaining to the visit of the manager or coach to the pitcher:(a) This rule limits the number of trips a manager or coach may make to any one pitcher in any one inning(b) A second trip to the same pitcher in the same inning will cause this pitcher'sautomatic removal(c) The manager or coach is prohibited from making a second visit to the mound while the same batter is at bat, but(d) if a pinch-hitter is substituted for this batter, the manager or coach may make a second visit to the mound, but must remove the pitcher.And further: A manager or coach is considered to have concluded his visit to the mound when he leaves the 18-foot circle surrounding the pitcher's rubber.There is nothing in the rules that states when the "visit" actually begins. I have seen coaches walk out of the dugout, request time out, cross the foul line, then suddenly veer off and go to the first or third baseman, and this has not been considered a visit. I believe the interpretation is that the visit starts whenever a) the coach enters the 18 foot pitcher's circle, or b) if the pitcher leaves the 18 foot pitcher's circle and actually starts talking with the coach.There is nothing in this rule that addresses anything about a reason for the visit. However, typically, if the pitcher appears to be injured in some way, it is not considered a visit, but the umpire is usually there to ensure there is no strategy being discussed.