That's what the rule says.
Rule 6.08 (b) states:The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when --(b) He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touched the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempts to avoid being touched by the ball;If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempts to avoid being touched.When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance.
MLB Rule 6.08(b) states that a batter is awarded first base when: "He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched." So, if the ball was in the strike zone when it touched the batter, it would be called a strike. If the ball was outside the strike zone when it touched the batter, it would be called a ball.
The answer is listed under 2.00 - "Definitions of Terms" official Baseball rules. It states that: If a pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight. Yes. MLB Rule 6.08(b) makes no distinction as to whether the ball does or does not hit the ground prior to hitting the batter. MLB Rule 6.08(b) is below: " He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched. APPROVED RULING: When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance. "
Being tactful is a must in order to avoid any feelings of misgivings. Being tactful is also a preventative measurement to avoid saying something that you might not have the right or responsibility to say or reveal.
In softball, if the batter is hit by a pitched ball after it has hit the ground, they are not awarded first base. The ball is considered a dead ball once it hits the ground, and the batter must avoid being hit by the ball. They are only awarded first base if the pitch is a strike and hits them directly without bouncing.
I don't think so. Rule 6.05 (f) states the batter is out if he attempts to hit a 3rd strike then the ball touches him.According to MLB Rule 6.08(b), the batter is entitled to first base when:"He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless(1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or(2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball;If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched.When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance."If the batter attempts to hit the pitch and the ball strikes him, according to rule he is NOT entitled to first base and the ball is ruled dead.
A seasoned batter can normally spot a curve ball being pitched by the ball's early arc. It is also seen early in its path to the plate by its spin combined by the delivery motion of the pitcher.
obeying the law
The answer is listed under 2.00 - "Definitions of Terms" official baseball rules. It states that: If a pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight. Yes. MLB Rule 6.08(b) makes no distinction as to whether the ball does or does not hit the ground prior to hitting the batter. MLB Rule 6.08(b) is below: " He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched. APPROVED RULING: When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance. "
Yes. This rule was famously enforced to prevent Don Drysdale's consecutive inning scoreless streak from ending.
A batter is awarded 1st base after four balls are pitched outside the strike zone that they do not swing at. This rule is part of baseball's guidelines regarding balls and strikes. If a batter receives a fourth ball, they can advance to 1st base without the risk of being put out.
the common responsibility is that they have to clean the house