answersLogoWhite

0

"Toe the rubber" is not an official Baseball term, so I'm going to guess that you're using this term to mean when the pitcher assumes the windup position. If so, the answer to your question is "No." Once the pitcher assumes the windup position (or the set position), he/she has three options: 1) pitch; 2) throw to a base (in an attempt to pick off a runner); 3) step off the pitcher's plate (rubber).

Rule 8.01 covers this and is quoted in the Discussion section for this question.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

SteveSteve
Knowledge is a journey, you know? We'll get there.
Chat with Steve
JordanJordan
Looking for a career mentor? I've seen my fair share of shake-ups.
Chat with Jordan
EzraEzra
Faith is not about having all the answers, but learning to ask the right questions.
Chat with Ezra

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Do you have to pitch if you toe the rubber?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp