answersLogoWhite

0

Yes, June 23, 1917. Babe Ruth pitched zero innings and Ernie Shore came in and got the combined no hitter. (Weird huh) Boston beat Washington 4-0.

it was even weirder than that. Ruth walked the first batter and was ejected for arguing about it. Ernie Shore came on in relief, picked the runner off first, and retired the next 26 guys in a row. But he doesn't get credit for a perfect game because a runner reached base, even though he didn't allow it.

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

RafaRafa
There's no fun in playing it safe. Why not try something a little unhinged?
Chat with Rafa
ReneRene
Change my mind. I dare you.
Chat with Rene
JudyJudy
Simplicity is my specialty.
Chat with Judy
More answers

In MLB, not by himself but he was part of a combined no hitter.

Ruth, pitching for the Red Sox, started a game against the Washington Senators on June 23, 1917. After walking the first batter, he began arguing with the home plate umpire and was thrown out of the game. Ernie Shore came in to relieve him, picked the runner off of first base, and proceeded to retire the next 26 batters in order. The game, won by the Red Sox by the score of 4-0, went into the record books as a combined no hitter for Ruth and Shore.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Did Babe Ruth ever throw a no hitter?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp