answersLogoWhite

0

Yes ... rule 5.10(c)(1) states:

"If an accident to a runner is such as to prevent him from proceeding to a base to which he is entitled, as on a home run hit out of the playing field, or an award of one or more bases, a substitute runner shall be permitted to complete the play."

A situation similar to this occurred in a game between the Boston Red Sox and Toronto Blue Jays in 2005. Gabe Kapler of the Red Sox was on first base when Tony Graffanino hit a home run. Kapler went down with a ruptured achillies tendon between second and third base. Graffanino waited on second base while Kapler was loaded on a cart and taken off the field. Alejandro Machado entered the game as a pinch runner and finished the trot to home plate in Kapler's absence.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

ProfessorProfessor
I will give you the most educated answer.
Chat with Professor
RossRoss
Every question is just a happy little opportunity.
Chat with Ross
LaoLao
The path is yours to walk; I am only here to hold up a mirror.
Chat with Lao
More answers

In the National League, the pitcher is already in the batting lineup. He cannot pinch-hit for anybody else, because he would be batting out of order.

In the American League, the designated hitter bats for the pitcher. If the pitcher was to bat, he would only be allowed to bat for the designated hitter, and that would remove the Designated Hitter rule for the remainder of the game. The rest of the game would have to be played normally, where the pitcher bats in the designated hitter's spot. This would not be a good idea, since most designated hitters are good hitters.

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
User Avatar

yes. if the runner is on the inner (left side of chalk if you are the runner) part of the base path.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
User Avatar

No

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you hit a runner with the baseball to get them out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp