answersLogoWhite

0

According to the NFL Rulebook: " A kickoff is illegal unless it travels 10 yards OR is touched by the receiving team. Once the ball is touched by the receiving team or has gone 10 yards, it is a free ball. Receivers may recover and advance. Kicking team may recover but NOT advance UNLESS receiver had possession and lost the ball. " According to the NFL Rules, the kicking team may not advance the ball on a kickoff unless it has been possessed first by the receiving team. In the play you saw in the Washington/Seattle playoff game, the ball went unpossessed by the receiving team when the kicking team gained control. In that case, possession is awarded to the kicking team at the spot where the kicking team gained control of the ball. no. the ball is dead where the kicking team touched it

User Avatar

Wiki User

17y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

TaigaTaiga
Every great hero faces trials, and you—yes, YOU—are no exception!
Chat with Taiga
CoachCoach
Success isn't just about winning—it's about vision, patience, and playing the long game.
Chat with Coach
BeauBeau
You're doing better than you think!
Chat with Beau
More answers

Yes but only if the ball is fumbled by the other team (the runner loses possession while running or touches the football but does not catch it). The kicking team cannot recover a kicked ball if the receiving team has not touched it/fumbled. If the kicking team does touch it before the receiving team does, it is considered a dead ball and the receiving team's offense will start wherever the ball was stopped.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
User Avatar

Yes, as long as it has traveled further than 10 yards.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

yes

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

yes

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can the team that kickoff recover the ball 30 yards down field?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp