Generally starting pitchers don't pitch two nights in a row because the act of starting a game and pitching a standard amount of innings (5-8) is extremely taxing on the arm. Pitching two nights in a row for a starting pitcher can be very dangerous for their arm, and if they did start two nights in a row, they would most likely be ineffective in the second game. That said, relief pitchers can pitch two games in a row, although pitching more than two games in a row is also very hard on their arm. Relief pitchers throw fewer innings than starting pitchers, and their arms are used to pitching more frequently.
Chat with our AI personalities
There are many different rules when it comes to this and you would have to refer to the organization rules to get the answer. Cal Ripken, Little League, Top Gun, USSSA, Triple Crown, all have different pitching rules. For instance, Top Gun allows a pitcher to pitch 7 innings in a tournament for the 10 and under age group. Pitcher can pitch 6 innings in one game and then pitch 1 inning in the next game either the same day or the day after.
Cal Ripken rules allow a rolling 6 innings. Pitcher can throw 4 innings in game one and 2 in game 2. Or in multiple game tournaments, the pitcher could throw 3 innings in game 1, none in game 2, and 6 in game 3.
Very different all over. Check your rules.
Yes, only if he has remained in the game as a position player and or takes over the the DH spot.
This is very rare though. Once a pitcher is pulled and not swapped for another roster spot he may not pitch again that game.
Yes, a pitcher can pitch as many games as necessary, even if they are consecutive.
Remember, starting pitchers aren't the only ones who pitch. Many times relievers and closers can play many games in a row, but starting pitchers still can pitch consecutive games if it is necessary. If there is any reason for the starting pitcher to play in a second consecutive game, he will more than likely pitch in relief for one or two innings.