Best Answer

That would depend on when those five runs were scored for the pitcher's team. If the team was always behind in the game, the first pitcher would get the loss. However, if the pitcher's team made the score 5-5 before the relief pitcher gave up the seven runs, then the relief pitcher would get the loss.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

The pitcher that let the runner that gave the winning team the lead they wouldn't lose for the rest of the game reach base.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When a pitcher allows 5 runs in first inning and then a Relief pitcher comes in and allows 7 more runs to end game 12 to 5 Who gets the loss?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Who gets the credit win as a pitcher when the game is tied up 3-3 in the 4th inning and the relieve pitcher comes in and the final score is 6-3 a win?

With no addtional information available, the winning pitcher is the relief pitcher who came in in the 4th inning. Remember, a starting pitcher must pitch five complete innings before he can be credited with a win.

When a batter is obstructed does a coach have an option?

A relief Pitcher comes into the game, with a 1 run lead in the 6 th inning. Then give up a run. Game is tied. In the 8 th relief pitchers team scores 2 runs & they win. Who gets the win & or save .

When does a save happen in baseball?

When a relief pitcher comes in while leading & does not give up the lead when game concluded.

What is a LR in baseball?

LRP stands for a Left Handed Relief Pitcher. <--- incorrect, please note my additional comments below if you took this original post to be the correct answer. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- LHRP stands for Left Handed Relief Pitcher. LRP stands for Long Relief Pitcher. A Long Relief Pitcher is considered the guy who comes in when one team leads the other by a significant amount or the starting pitcher has failed to putch deep enough into the game to allow the rest of the bullpen to stay rested.

If a relief pitcher starts 1 inning but is replaced by another pitcher before any outs are recorded. How is that scored for the picher considering he recorded no outs.?

For example, if a pitcher comes in to start the seventh inning, gives up two base hits and is replaced without recording an out, the box score will show he pitched 0 innings. At the bottom of the box score it will have a statement "<name of pitcher> pitched to two batters in the seventh inning'. Sometimes you hear broadcasters refer to it as 'plus'. Say the starter is replaced after giving up a base hit in the seventh inning but before recording any outs. You might hear the broadcaster say "<name of pitcher> went six plus innings today".

If a pitcher throws a no hitter through nine innings can the no hitter be broken up by the relief pitcher?

In MLB, yes. MLB's definition of a no hitter is: "An official no-hit game occurs when a pitcher (or pitchers) allows no hits during the entire course of a game, which consists of at least nine innings." So a pitcher could pitch a no hitter for nine innings or nineteen innings but if a reliever comes in and gives up a hit, the no hitter is over.

Does a relief pitcher who allows inherited runners to score receive a blown save?

I don't think it's a save situation if a pitcher comes in with runners on... But even if it is, then it is indeed a blown save. He gave up the run even if it is unearned. He was expected to close the game out / earn a save and he blew it. Yes he is. His ERA wouldn't be affected, but if he gives up the tying run under any circumstances, he is charged with a blown save.

Pitcher leaves game with one run lead but two runners on base relief pitcher comes in finishes game for win does relief pitcher get a win or save?

In order to record a save under baseball rules, the following must happen: The pitcher must be the last to appear in a game won by his team. The pitcher is not the winning pitcher. The pitcher enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs, and records at least one out. He comes in with the potential tying run on base, at bat or on deck. A pitcher can also record a save by recording at least three effective innings to close out a game, at the discretion of the official scorer. Consequently, a blown save is when a pitcher enters a game in any of these situations and allows either the tying or go-ahead run to score. Almost had it - the tying run is on base, on deck, or in the hole. If a team is up by 3 runs and the reliever starts the inning, he can still get the save. Also the reliever cannot create his own save situation.

What is the difference between the American and National baseball leagues about Substituting players?

As far as the rules are concerned, there are no differences between the two leagues. The differences are in strategy and how to use players and mostly involve the pitcher. One tactic used in the National League is called the 'double switch'. This usually occurs late in a close ball game when the pitcher is due up to bat in the following inning. When a manager comes out to remove a pitcher sometimes he will also remove a fielder. Usually, this fielder has batted in the previous inning, maybe even made the final out of the inning. Since the manager has replaced two players, he may designate where the players will bat in the batting order. So the manager will place the new fielder in the batting position of the pitcher and the pitcher in the batting order of the replaced player. That allows the new fielder to bat in the next inning and places the pitcher to bat much later in the order.

If a pitcher has men on base and has to leave game and another pither comes in and gives up a run when the game is tied who gets the loss if it happens in the 9th inning?

The pitcher that left the game with the game tied and runners on base would receive the loss if the relieving Pitcher gives up any of those runs because the previous Pitcher would be considered the current Pitcher of record until either the 9th inning ends or until all runners the previous Pitcher allowed to get on base either scores or are called out.

When does a pitcher get charged for the win?

yes, if he is the starting pitcher he has to go a minimum of 5 innings and his team has to be leading when he exits the game and never lose their lead and win the game. A pitcher can win in relief if he comes in when the game is tied or his team is losing, and his team rallies after he pitches and win the game, but they can't give up their lead after he pitches or he won't get the win someone else will get the win

What is a 'save' in baseball?

A save is when a relief pitcher comes in with his team leading and finishes the game without giving up the lead. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Not all such appearances are saves. To be credited with a save, the pitcher's team must win, he must be the pitcher at the end of the game, and he must not be credited with the win. (Essentially the above answer.) But then he must qualify in one of three additional ways: (1) he pitched effectively for at least three innings; (2) he came into the game with his team leading by no more than 3 runs, and pitched at least one full inning; or (3) he entered the game with the tying run on base, at bat, or on deck.