answersLogoWhite

0

At the 2012 California state meet, St Mary's dropped the baton in the 4x4 relay. The announcer kept saying they were disqualified. How unknowledgeable for an announcer to make such a statement. The team is only disqualified if the baton falls to the inside of the track and it gives them an advantage by running less distance or if they run into an inside lane to gain a shorter distance or if they impede another runner then that would be a judge's call.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

RafaRafa
There's no fun in playing it safe. Why not try something a little unhinged?
Chat with Rafa
TaigaTaiga
Every great hero faces trials, and you—yes, YOU—are no exception!
Chat with Taiga
RossRoss
Every question is just a happy little opportunity.
Chat with Ross
More answers

No, you cannot. Once a relay team drops the baton either between hand-offs, or while the person is running, the relay team is dis-qualified from the race.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a team still win if they drop the baton?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp