Best Answer

Dario Franchitti earned $2,474,280 for his 2012 victory in the 96th Indianapolis 500 Mile Race. The overall purse was $13,285,815.

Dario Franchitti also won the 2010 race and received $2.75 million in prize money.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Haven't seen any 09 figures yet but in 08 Scott Dixon took home record $2,988,065.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How much does winner of Indy 500 make?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How much did Indianapolis 500 winner make in 2008?

well there is about 100 dollars a ticket with the 70,000+seats and all the food and merchandice they sell,thats alot.

Who is the oldest Indy 500 winner?

A.J. Foyt is the oldest surviving Indianapolis 500 winner.

Who was the winner of the Indy 500a car race?

The winner of the Indy 500 car race, in 2012, was Dario Franchitti. This gave him the distinction of being a three time winner of the Indy 500. He was a member of the Chip Ganassi Racing Team.

How much does the winner of the Indy 500 receive?

Varies by race but the 2017 race winner Sato received $2.46 million

Who was the last former winner to not enter the Indy 500 the following year?

2007 winner Dario Franchitti, now racing in NASCAR, did not race the 2008 Indy 500.

Who was the winner of the Indy 500 in 2010?

Dario Franchitti won the 2010 Indianapolis 500.

Who was the first Indy 500 champion to race in F-1?

The first Indy 500 winner that drove in a Formula One race (other than the Indy 500 which was considered an F-1 race between 1950-1960) was Rodger Ward of the United States, the 1959 and 1962 Indy 500 winner, who drove in the 1959 United States Grand Prix. The first winner that drove full time in Formula One was Jim Clark of Scotland, the 1965 Indy 500 champion.

How much horsepower does a 1996 POLARIS Indy 500 make?


Who wins Indy 500?

The first car to complete 200 laps is declared the winner of the Indianapolis 500.

Money won in Indianapolis May 11 1911 race?

Ray Harroun, winner of the Indy 500 in 1911, won $14,250. Click on the '1911 Indy 500 Box Score' link below to see who raced in the first ever Indianapolis 500, where they finished, and how much money they won.

How Many Laps Make Up The Indy 500?

The Indy 500 - or the Indianapolis 500-Mile Race consists of 200 laps. The circuit consists of an asphalt track with four turns.

Indy winner luyendyk?

Arie Luyendyk is a Dutch auto racing driver and two time winner (1990 and 1997) of the Indianapolis 500. He retired from racing after the 1999 season, but returned to the 500 in 2001 and 2002.