You can play it, but you cannot ground your club unless you are in the process of playing a stroke.
Go back as far as you like, keeping the point of entry between you and the flag and take a penalty drop, this costs one stroke. (If you take this option, you must take full relief so you cannot drop it in the hazard) And you must drop no nearer the hole.
You can go back to where you played the original stroke from, this also costs a penalty stroke.
You can use the drop zone if there is one, this also costs one penalty stroke.
You don't need to retrieve your ball if you cannot reach it, or find it, you may play another ball, as long as you and/or playing partners saw or believe your ball entered the hazard.
If a ball is struck into a lateral water hazard the options are: 1. Replay the shot 2. drop two clubs from the point that the ball entered the hazard no closer to the hole. 3. Drop a ball two club lengths from the hazard on the opposite side of the hazard the same distance away. 4. Take the ball as far back keeping the line that the ball crossed the hazard and the pin.
* Replay the previous shot * Stroke and distance, keeping the point where the ball entered the hazard between you and the flag, drop the ball on either side of the hazard, no nearer the hole. * Two club length drop, from nearest point of relief, no nearer the hole. All the above options carry a one stroke penalty.
The ball is played from where it stops. If you can't hit it out of the hazard, take the drop and penalty.
The key thing is you must know that the ball has went into the water hazard. If it has done so you either play another ball from your original positon, take a two club drop from the edge of the hazard or on a line with the pin and where the ball entered take the ball back as far as you want. There is a one shot penalty for hitting it into the water hazard.
There are several ways to drop a ball that is in a hazard.If the hazard is marked with a red line or red stakes the options for dropping the ball are as followsTwo clubs length from the spot that the ball last crossed the hazard no closer to the holeReplay the shot from a spot as near to the spot that the original ball was last playedTwo clubs lengths from the opposite side of the hazard that is equal distance from the holeIf the hazard is marked yellow then the options are:As far back as want keeping the ball in line with the point at which the ball crossed the hazard and the pinReplay the shot from a spot as near to the spot that the original ball was last played
Not if the ball is sitting outside the hazard line.
If you hit the ball into the water there is a one shot penalty. You can either drop the ball 2 club lengths from the edge of the hazard or you can go back as far you like in line with the point where the ball entered the hazard. Or you can even go back to the tee, you will be playing 3 off the tee. That is not strictly correct. The question asks only about "water". There are two "types" of water in the Rules of Golf. i.e. Casual Water(CW) , which is a temporary collection of water, and water in a water hazard. There are two types of water hazard i.e Regular water hazard(WH) and a lateral water hazard, (LWH). It is still a WH or LWH even if there is no water in it. If your ball is at rest in Casual Water, you are required to proceed, without penalty, under Rule 25-1. If your ball is at rest in eithe a WH or LWH, you must proceed under Rule26-1.Note. If your ball lies in a LWH you have an additional relief optionviz.Rule26-1c. Which ever relief option you wish to prcoceed under in Rule26-1 it will cost you a penalty stroke. However, a player is not obliged to take relief. He ALWAYS has the option to play the ball as it lies, Rule 13-1.
I assume you mean, when has a player addressed a ball outside of a hazard. A player is deemed to have addressed the ball when they have taken their normal stance and has grounded their club behind the ball. The grounding of the club is the key act, if the club is not grounded, address has not been taken. Once the normal stance has been taken, and the club has been grounded the ball has been addressed. You specified outside a hazard, it is good to point out the difference, because you can not ground your club in a hazard, so it is harder to determine when the ball has been addressed.
No
you hit the ball towards the flag. But if it goes in a water hazard, you drop before the water.
After hitting a ball into a lateral hazard, you have five options: Play the ball as it lies, if possible, within the hazard. Take a drop within two club lengths of where the ball last crossed the hazard boundary, no closer to the hole. Use the point where the ball crossed the hazard to drop back on a line extending from the hole, also no closer to the hole. Return to the original spot and replay the shot, incurring a stroke penalty. If allowed by local rules, you may declare the ball unplayable and take a drop, with a stroke penalty, either within two club lengths or back on the line from the hole.
This is known as a lateral hazard, it differs from a water hazard as you can drop on either side of the hazard. There are a couple of options;Take a two club length drop, from the nearest point of relief, no nearer the hole.Replay the previous shot, from the previous position.Keep the point where the ball entered the hazard between you and the pin, and go back as far as you like.You do have the option of playing the ball as it lies, but remember, you can not ground you club in a hazard.