Best Answer

Here is the point system used in the FIFA World Cup:

3 points - decisive win

2 points - win by shootout

1 point - loss by shootout

1 point - a draw

0 points - a loss

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2010-06-20 12:35:16
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


1 card

When was Kimia Aqqala F.C. created

See all cards
2 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the World Cup point system?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many points do you get if you draw in the world cup?

1 point

How does a team earn points in the World Cup?

Teams in the world cup get three points for a win and a single point for each draw.

Which team is on the top of the table in the cricket world cup 2011?

point of New zealand is 6 and on the top of the table in the cricket world cup 2011.

How many points are awarded a team for tying a match in the world cup?

One point.

What was the highest score in world cup matches?

it was 10-1 in a match at some point

Was grant fox the leading point scorer in the 1987 rugby world cup?


With which 'system' t20 world cup south Africa 2010 played?


How do you calculate World Cup points?

There is a simple formula for calculating the standings in the World Cup. A win counts as 3 points, a draw counts as 1 point and a loss is 0.

How many points does each team get in the World Cup if the game ends in a draw?

1 point

Where will the 2010 World Cup be held?

The 2010 football world cup was held in South Africa. The overall winner was Spain and the main talking point was the "Vuvuzela" horn.

Where will the football world cup be held in 2032?

It has not been decided yet. The 2018 World Cup will be held in Russia and 2022 is going to be in Qatar. But no World Cups after that point have been decided as of yet. Also by the way there's not going to be a World Cup in 2032. There will be one in 2030 and 2034

Which countries paticipated in the World Cup 2011?

Which world cup 2011 are you talking about? There was the cricket world cup, the ladies world cup, the under 21 world cup, the under 17 world cup and the Rugby world cup all in 2011.

People also asked