Best Answer

I suppose that it may have happened at some point in history, but the rule is clearly defined to not apply to the penalty killing team. This allows the shorthanded team to relieve the pressure in the defensive zone.

The team on the power play *can* be charged with icing.

Icing is NOT a penalty in hockey. It is called, by the linesman, the play is stopped, and a face off takes place back where the puck was shot from.

User Avatar

Wiki User

2015-07-15 18:23:29
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


1 card


See all cards
12 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Did a team ever get charged with icing the puck when they were killing off a penalty?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
People also asked