Best Answer

Absolutely NOT! A filly is a young female horse...A colt is a young male horse!!! They usually race 2-3 yr. olds in the triple crown, which if I'm not mistaken, is maturity age for horses. I could be wrong, but I don't think so!

The age for horses to race in the 3 Triple Crown races--the KY Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes--is specifically 3 yrs. of age. Fillies are most welcome to run in any of the races and a very limited number have won. In order they are:

  • Regret won the KY Derby
  • Genuine Risk won the KY Derby
  • Winning Colors won the KY Derby (1988)
  • Rachel Alexandra won the Preakness (2009)
  • Rags to Riches won the Belmont (2007)

There is, however, an "unofficial" TC for fillies, known as the "Triple Tiara" that consists of: the Acorn Stakes run at Belmont and the Coaching Club American Oaks and the Alabama Stakes, both run at Saratoga Race Course in Saratoga Springs, NY.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Do they hold separate races for filly and colt for triple crown?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many of the triple crown winners were mares?

None. Fillies usually do not run quite as fast as colts, although there have been filly winners in some of the Triple Crown races, but none have ever won the crown.

Who was the first filly to win the triple crown?

Yes here are fillies who'd won TC Races, and the dates Regret won the KY. Derby in 1915 Genuine Risk won the KY. Derby in 1980 Winning Colors won the KY. Derby in 1988 Flocarline won the Preakness in 1903 Whimsical won the Preakness in 1906 Rhine Maiden won the Preakness in 1915 Nellie Morse won the Preakness in 1924 Ruthless won the Belmont in 1867 Tanya won the Belmont in 1905 Rags To Riches won the Belmont in 2007

Did seabcuit win the triple crown?

No, Seabiscuit never raced in any of the Triple crown races.

When is triple crown?

The Triple Crown is a combination of three races The Kentucky Derby, The Preakness Stakes and the Belmont Stakes

What are the ages of the horses that run in the Triple Crown?

All Triple Crown races are restricted to 3 year olds only.

Who won the 2012 triple crown races?

Miguel Cabrera

Was secretariat a three year old when won triple crown?

Yes. The Triple Crown races are for three year olds only.

Who chose the races for the Triple Crown And why were those races chosen?

The American Triple Crown races were in existence long before they became the Triple Crown. the governing body of horse racing at the time decided that the USA needed a Triple Crown for Thoroughbreds, as there was one already in existence in England where Thoroughbreds were originally created. The Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes were chosen due to their length and prestige.

Is the Tripple crown the same as the Belmont?

Belmont is part of the triple crown. The triple crown is 3 races. Belmont, Kentucky Derby, and I forget the third at the moment.

What are two races that make up the Triple Crown?

The Kentucky Derby and The Preakness. (The third leg of the Triple Crown is called The Belmont Stakes.)

In a ditloid puzzle what is 3R in the TC?

3 races in the triple crown

Which three horse races make up the Triple Crown in the United States?

The three races that make up the Triple Crown are the Kentucky Derby, the Belmont Stakes and the Preakness. The Derby is the longest race out of the three.