Best Answer

Yes. The last 2 World Series droughts for the New York Yankees was 1963 -1976, 13 years without winning a series, and 1979 -1995, 17 years without winning a World Series. A Cubs fan would laugh at that.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-01-14 05:59:28
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Yankees get a spell of never winning a World Series?
Write your answer...
Related questions

Which New York Yankees player never won a World Series?

There have been many players in Yankees history who have never won a World Series. Whether it was with the Yankees or another team.

Did the Atlanta Braves ever beat the New York Yankees in a World Series?

No, the Atlanta Braves never beat the Yankees in the World Series. The Yankees did lose to the Milwaukee Braves in the 1957 World Series.

How about those mets?

They won the World Series in 1969 and 1986. Never count out the New York Mets. The New York Mets and New York Yankees, who had a "Subway Series" in 2000, with the Yankees winning it. The New York Mets have a lot of potential in them, and if not this year, maybe next year.

How many times did Alex Rodriguez win the World Series?

0. As of the start of the 2008 season, Alex Rodriguez has never played on a World Series winning team.Let me just say as of November 5, 2009 A-Rod has a World Series Ring with CHAMPIONS NEW YORK YANKEES!!

How many World Series have the Tampa Bay Devil Rays won and what year?

They have never won a world series, although they appeared in the 2008 series, winning one game against the Phillies. In 2011 they have a really good chance of winning the world series.

Is it true that the Yankees have never won the World Series when there is a Republican president in office?

It's not true, but the Yankees have won their last nine world championships when a Democrat was president. The last time the Yankees won a World Series during a Republican administration was 1958.

Did Deion Sanders win a World Series with the New York Yankees?

No, Deion Sanders never won a World Series during his career. He played in 71 games for the Yankees from 1989-1990.

Is it true that the New York Yankees have never won the World Series when there is a Republican President in office?

No, that is not true. Dwight D. Eisenhower ("Ike"), a Republican, was president from 1953 - 1961. During that time, the Yankees won the World Series in 1953, 1956 and 1958. They also on in 1961, but Eisenhower left office in January, 1961; the World Series is in October. The Yankees have not won a World Series under a Republican President since Ike.

What year did the Boston Red Sox beat the New York Yankees in the World Series?

That never happened. The Red Sox and Yankees are both American League teams, therefore they cannot play each other in the World Series.

Is it true that the New York Yankees have never won the World Series when there is a Democrat president in office?


How will the 2010 MLB season turn out?

In all likelihood, the NY Yankees will spend enough money to buy enough great baseball players and win another World Series, as they have done so often in the past. Never underestimate the power of the NY Yankees bank account to buy great players. Money is not the only factor to winning the World Series, but, it helps out a lot when you have more money to spend than any other team.

How many world series did don mattingly play in?

Don Mattingly never played in a World Series. His career with the New York Yankees began in 1982, the year after the club appeared in the 1981 Series against the Los Angeles Dodgers. The Yankees didn't return to the Series until 1996, the year after Mattingly's final season.

When was the last time the New York Yankees and Boston Red Sox played in the World Series together?

They never played each other in the World Series. This couldn't happen due to the fact that both the Yankees and Red Sox are American League teams. The American league plays the National League in the World Series.

How many times the Yankees lost the series leading 3 to 1?

The Yankees have never lost a seven-game World Series after leading 3 to 1. The 1958 Yanks, however, came back from a 3 to 1 deficit to beat the Milwaukee Braves for the world championship.

Did the Yankees ever beat the sox the WS?

Both the White Sox and the Red Sox are American League teams as are the Yankees and would never play each other in the World Series.

Did the New York Yankees and the New York Giants win in the same year?

Through 2009, the Yankees won the World Series and the Giants won the NFL Championship in the same year three times ... 1927, 1938, and 1956. The Yankees and Giants have never won the World Series and the Super Bowl in the same season.

What is the odds of winning the World Series after losing 3 to 0?

The longest odds you can imagine. It has never happened in a best-of-seven World Series, although five teams -- the 1925 Pittsburgh Pirates, the 1958 New York Yankees, the 1968 Detroit Tigers, the 1979 Pittsburgh Pirates and the 1985 Kansas City Royals -- have come back to win after being down 3 to 1.

How many World Series rings does Joe Torre have?

Torre, who never appeared in a World Series as a player, earned four championship rings as the manager of the New York Yankees (1996, 1998, 1999 and 2000).

Did the Yankees win a World Series in the 1980's?

NO!PS some say Don Mattingly is the greatest Yankee to never have won a World Series and he played on the Yanks during the 1980's.

How many times has Tampa Bay won the World Series?

Tampa bay Have won one World Series Which was in 2008 against the Phillies. No, the Phillies beat Tampa Bay, winning 4 out of 5 games. The Rays have never won a world series--that was their only appearance in the world series.

How many World Series has ichiro suzuki won?

As of 2012 September, Suzuki has never even played in a World Series. Depending on how well the Yankees do in the post-season this year, this year may be his first.

Did the SF Giants ever play the Boston Red Sox in a World Series?

The Boston Red Sox have never played the SAN FRANCISCO Giants in a series. They did, however, play the New York Giants in the 1912 World Series, winning four games to three.

What years have the Rays won the World Series?

The Tampa Bay Rays Have never won a World Series. 2008 is the Rays first winning season (above .500), made the play-offs, and won their first pennant. Only time will tell if they will win their first World Series in 2008.

When was the last time the Padres won the World Series?

Through the 2009 season, the Padres have never won the World Series.They have played in two, in 1998 against the New York Yankees and 1984 against the Detroit Tigers. They lost to the Yankees 4 games to 0 and lost to the Tigers 4 games to 1.

What three famous players in the baseball World Series would never play another game after the Series ended?

The three outstanding players of the 1947 World Series in New York City were Cookie Lavagetto and Al Gionfriddo of the Dodgers and pitcher Bill Bevens of the Yankees.