Best Answer

No. A balk only affects base runners. Each base runner gets to advance one base when a balk is called.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2008-04-04 21:16:16
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: With runners on base a balk is called does the batter get a ball called?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

A balk is called with runners on base and the batter hits the ball for an out. What happens?

The balk is void if the ball is hit. Just as if there was no balk called. If your batter hits the balked pitch and grounds out then he is out. Runners advance at their own risk. This is dependent on the league that is being played. In high school, a balk is immediate meaning that if the ball is hit it means nothing and the runners all move up a base. But in some leagues, it is a delayed balk. This means that if the batter reaches base and all runners move up a base the balk is waved off. At no point does the balk benefit the defense. A balk is a punishment to deceiving the offensive players or in this case the runners. So in reality the balk at no point turns void unless the offense benefits from the play.

Runner on 1st balk is called on pitcher before the batter hits the ball?

In Major League Baseball a Balk is a delayed dead ball. That means that if the pitcher pitches the ball after the Balk is called, the umpire waits to see what happens before calling time and enforcing the Balk. If the batter hits the ball, and reaches base safely, and all runners advance at least one base, the Balk is ignored.

Can a batter get awarded first base on a balk if there the count has 3 balls and there are no runners on base?

No. A balk affects only runners and is called when there is at least one runner on base. The penalty for a balk is that all runners are allowed to advance one base. The batter is awarded nothing regardless of whether or not there are runners on base at the time of the balk. Incorrect...per MLB rule book...If a balkable offense is committed with no runners on base, a ball is awarded to the hitter.

The batter hits the ball over the fence and a balk was called what happens?

A balk is called before the pitch -- therefor anytime a balk is called it is a no pitch. I guess if there is a situation where the umpires allow the pitcher to finish a pitch, yet still call a balk and the batter hits the ball then nothing would happen -- this would be similar to a pitch thrown when umpire grants timeout before hand. When the balk is called the runners will advance 1 base -- if there is no runners on, then there is no reason for the umpire to call a balk, it would just be an illegal pitch, which is still a live ball in play --- the batter can swing if he wants, but if he decides not to the pitch is a ball no matter if it crosses in the strike zone or not

Can a balk be called if a pitcher stops his throw due to a batter awarded time out?

A balk can only be called when the ball is live. If a batter has been awarded time out, then play has stopped, and a balk is impossible. It's safer for the pitcher to complete the pitch, just in case the batter isn't awarded time out.

How many balk calls are there?

There is only one call for a balk. When a pitcher is in the stretch and a runner or runners are on base, the pitcher must pause before throwing to homeplate. There can also be a balk called on the pitcher if he makes a move to throw out someone at first base, but doesn't actually throw the ball. (No fake throws to first allowed!) The last reason for a balk to be called is if a pitcher begins to move his front leg towards homeplate, but does not throw the ball to home. (Or simply pitch to the batter). A balk results in baserunners advancing one base.

Can the pitcher from the stretch position remove the ball from the glove while on the pitchers plate with out committing a balk with runners on base?

YES ... How do you think he'll throw the ball home ??? The way you get called for a balk is by making a motion towards a base while on the rubber ... you don't ever have to put the ball in the glove ... this is only do so that the batter will not see the grip and know what pitch is coming ...

Is a balk when nobody is on supposed to be called a ball and if it is can someone get walked without ever throwing a pitch?

A balk cannot be called if no one is on base. The essence of a balk is the pitcher is tiring to achieve an unfair advantage over the base runner. No runner, no advantage. If a pitcher, while no runners are on base, commits an action that would have been recognized as a balk if runners had been on base, the penalty for this is a ball. So yes, in theory, you could "walk someone without every throwing a pitch" --- (i.e), if you were on the mound and dropped the ball, that would be a "balk" and result in a ball.. The thing is, it does count on pitch count

When pitching to the batter if the pitcher's pivot foot comes off the rubber before the ball leaves his hand is there any penalty?

If there are runners on base, it's a balk. Runners advance one base (MLB Rule 8.05(e)). If there's no one on base, and the pitch is delivered, a ball is called unless the batter reaches base otherwise (MLB Rule 8.01(d)).

What makes a balk?

The vast majority of Balks are called on the pitcher, but a Balk can also be called on the catcher. With runners on base, if the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the pitcher releases the ball, it's Balk on the catcher. When this happens, it is almost always while attempting to give an intentional base on balls.

Runners on 2nd and 3rdPitcher fients a throw to 3rd turns and fients a throw to 1st with no runner there Is this a Balk?

YES ... throwing a ball to an unoccupied base is a balk ...

Is a batter awarded first base on a balk?

yes of course Incorrect, the 'balk rule' is only comes into play when there are runners on base. If a pitcher balks with no one on, he resets and pitches again. However, if the umpire(s) determine the pitcher made an illegal pitch, a ball can be awarded - but wouldn't fall under the 'balk rule'

People also asked