answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when the winning run is scored.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-06 00:11:17
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Winning pitcher rule
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When did the official scorers stop deciding who was the pitcher of record?

The official scorer still decides who is the winning pitcher in instances that are not covered by the baseball scoring rules (Rule 10.19). This occurs only for relief pitchers.


How many innings must a starting pitcher pitch to win a 7 inning game?

It's five innings. The rule doesn't make much sense unless you understand the lingo, but here it is anyways. (a) The official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher that pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, unless (1) such pitcher is a starting pitcher and Rule 10.17(b) applies; or (2) Rule 10.17(c) applies. Rule 10.17(a) Comment: Whenever the score is tied, the game becomes a new contest insofar as the winning pitcher is concerned. Once the opposing team assumes the lead, all pitchers who have pitched up to that point and have been replaced are excluded from being credited with the victory. If the pitcher against whose pitching the opposing team gained the lead continues to pitch until his team regains the lead, which it holds to the finish of the game, that pitcher shall be the winning pitcher. (b) If the pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, is a starting pitcher who has not completed (1) five innings of a game that lasts six or more innings on defense, or (2) four innings of a game that lasts five innings on defense, then the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the relief pitcher, if there is only one relief pitcher, or the relief pitcher who, in the official scorer’s judgment was the most effective, if there is more than one relief pitcher.


What is the rule about the number of consecutive innings a pitcher can pitch?

In MLB, there is no rule about the number of consecutive innings a pitcher can pitch.


How many batters must a pitcher face to record a save?

There is no set amount of batters a pitcher must face to be awarded a save. MLB Rule 10.19 specifies the rules for awarding a pitcher a save: 1) The pitcher must be the final pitcher used by the winning team. 2) The pitcher cannot be the winning pitcher. 3) The pitcher must record at least one out. 4) One of the following three conditions must apply: 4A) The pitcher enters the game with his team ahead by three runs or less and pitches at least one inning. 4B) The pitcher enters the game with his team ahead and the potential tying run is either on base or one of the two batters he faces. 4C) The pitcher pitches at least three innings. Examples: 1) A pitcher enters the game with two out in the ninth inning, his team is ahead 8-3, and the bases are loaded. If the pitcher records the final out, he is credited with a save. Looking at the rules above, he would be the final pitcher used by the winning team, he would not be the winning pitcher, he would have recorded at least one out, and he would have entered the game with the potential tying run being one of the first two batters he faced. 2) A pitcher enters the game with two out in the ninth inning, his team is ahead 9-3, and the bases are loaded. If the pitcher records the final out, he is NOT credited with a save. Looking at the rules above, he would be the final pitcher used by the winning team, he would not be the winning pitcher, he would have recorded at least one out, BUT he would have entered the game with the potential tying run not being one of the first two batters he faced. 3) A pitcher enters the game to start the sixth inning with his team ahead 17-0. He pitches all four innings (sixth through ninth) and his team wins 18-1. The pitcher is credited with a save. He was the final pitcher used by the winning team, he wasn't the winning pitcher, he recorded at least one out, and he pitched at least three innings.


What varsity baseball team beat calvert hall and the game was stopped under the 10 run rule is this the only time it has ever happened and who was the opposing winning pitcher?

mount saint joe , when they had Steve clevenger 2005


If a coach completely removes a pitcher from the game and he forgets that he removed him and the pitcher pitches is the pitcher illegal and should a forfeit be called?

Rule 3.05(c) states: If an improper substitution is made for the pitcher, the umpire shall direct the proper pitcher to return to the game until the provisions of this rule are fulfilled. If the improper pitcher is permitted to pitch, any play that results is legal. The improper pitcher becomes the proper pitcher as soon as he makes his first pitch to the batter, or as soon as any runner is put out. Rule 3.05(c) Comment states: If a manager attempts to remove a pitcher in violation of Rule 3.05 (c) the umpire shall notify the manager of the offending club that it cannot be done. If, by chance, the umpire-in-chief has, through oversight, announced the incoming improper pitcher, he should still correct the situation before the improper pitcher pitches. Once the improper pitcher delivers a pitch he becomes the proper pitcher.


How many runs up can you be to get the save in baseball?

The save can be achieved when the tying run is on deck-so you could be winning by one run or by five runs depending on the situation. There is also a rule that says a relief pitcher will get a save if he pitches three innings, ends the game, and is not the winning pitcher, regardless of score. Because of this rule, in the most lopsided victory in major league history*, reliever Wes Littleton was credited with saving a 27-run lead because he pitched three innings. * Box here: http://www.baseball-reference.com/boxes/BAL/BAL200708221.shtml


Pitcher enters a game in the top of the 9th. His team is down by 1 run. A runner is caught stealing before he throws a pitch. His team wins the game in the bottom of the 9th. Is he the winning pitcher?

Yes. Even though the pitcher did not throw a pitch he was the pitcher of record when the winning runs scored. So he would get credit for the win. Let's say this happened in the 6th inning: A pitcher comes in with the bases loaded, two out, and his team is trailing 6-4. He picks the runner off of first base before he throws a pitch. In the bottom of the 6th the pitcher is pinch hit for and his team scores 4 runs to put his team ahead 8-6. The game ends with a score of 8-7. The pitcher would be credited with the win in this case because, as before, he was the pitcher of record when the go-ahead runs scored. I cannot recall this ever happening but, by rule, a pitcher can be credited with a win without throwing a single pitch.


Does the pitcher in a Major League Baseball game get to hit?

There are two leagues in American major league baseball, the American League and the National League. The American League has the designated hitter rule which allows for someone other than the pitcher to bat in the pitcher's place. The pitcher does not bat in the American League. The National League does not have the designated hitter rule. The pitcher does bat in the National League.


What premiership teams were three nil down and ended winning?

Liverpool did it and they rule!


Is there a MLB rule governing who may signal pitches to the pitcher?

NO... the pitcher can take a pitch sign from any one ... or not take it at all ...


Can a pitcher be taken out while batter has a count?

Yes, a pitcher may be replaced at any time with one exception. That exception isifthe pitcher has just entered the game and the batter is the first batter he is pitching to. The rule states a pitcher must pitch one full at bat and applies to both starting and relief pitchers. Of course, if the pitcher suffers an injury the umpires can rule that he may be replaced regardless of whether the batter is the first batter the pitcher is pitching to.


If a new pitcher comes in the game where does he bat?

If the game is being played with the Designated Hitter rule, he does not bat at all. If the game is not being played with the Designated Hitter rule and the new pitcher simply replaces the prior pitcher, the new one bats in same place in the batting order as the former pitcher. If the pitcher comes in on a double switch, the new one may bat in place of the former pitcher or of the other player being removed at the manager's discretion.


How did Rome rule it territories?

rome ruled it territories by fight the war and winning the war


In the American league can the dh rule be optional?

Yes, but then the pitcher would have to bat


How many times can a coach go to the pitcher's mound before the pitcher has to leave the game?

A coach can go to the mound as many times as he likes in a game. he can only go a few times per inning.The pitcher doesnt have to be removed. If the manager goes to the mound twice in one inning the pitcher must be removed from the gameNot correct.Baseball rule 8.06 is VERY clear that a visit by either the manager OR a coach can only occur twice in an inning before the pitcher must be removed:8.06 A professional league shall adopt the following rule pertaining to the visit of the manager or coach to the pitcher:(a) This rule limits the number of trips a manager or coach may make to any one pitcher in any one inning;(b) A second trip to the same pitcher in the same inning will cause this pitcher's automatic removal;


How many batters can a pitcher hit?

There is no rule that governs how many hit batsman a pitcher can have. In practically, the team's manager may remove him if the hit batters become excessive...and the umpire may eject the pitcher if he feels the pitcher is intentionally trying to throw at batters.


What determines the winning pitcher in a MLB game?

In almost all cases, the starting pitcher has to last at least five innings and his team must a) be in the lead before a reliever throws a pitch, and b) maintain the lead for the rest of the game. For a reliever to get a win, it's the same minus the five-inning provision. Losses are different, since that is based on the runs for which the pitcher is "responsible" -- ones that reached base against him while he was in the game. As for the save, the pitcher must finish a game that the team wins and meet conditions, most pertaining to how close the margin is when he enters the game, outlined in the rule.


Can a pitcher and a fielder alternate position?

Yes. MLB Rule 3.03 Comment states: "A pitcher may change to another position only once during the same inning; e.g. the pitcher will not be allowed to assume a position other than a pitcher more than once in the same inning."Only the Pitcher and Catcher have defined positions, other defensive players can stand anywhere in fair territory (Rule 4.03c)


Is it legal to pitch underhanded in professional baseball?

There is nothing I have found in the MLB rules that would prohibit a pitcher from a pitching motion similar to that of a softball pitcher. Actually, the underhanded motion was the rule when Alexander Cartwright came up with the rules of baseball in 1845. I have included a link, named 'MLB Rule 8', to the MLB rules concerning the pitcher on this page.


Is there a rule saying what color a pitcher's glove must be or that it may be only one color?

According to Major League Baseball Rules: 1.15(a) The pitcher's glove may not, exclusive of piping, be white, gray, nor in the judgment of the umpire, distracting in any manner. There used to be a rule in High School baseball that said the pitcher could not use a multi-colored glove, but that rule has been revoked.


The Qing Rule was known as a rule of?

That if two parties bet on something and the loosing party offers another bet about the payment of the bet the winning party must accept.


What is the Catching Fire rule change?

The Quarter Quell! In this, all the winning tributes from a district are put back in the drawing for the Hunger Games so that when the tributes are picked, it is from a pool of winning tributes.


Is there a rule of how many days a pitcher has to rest?

not in the mlb but in pee wee baseball its about 70-80


Can a starting pitcher re-enter the game after being removed If so which league rule is this?

A starting pitcher who is removed cannot re-enter in either league, if he is removed from the game. It's rarely if ever done in Major League baseball, but if a pitcher is removed as a pitcher but placed in another position he can later return to the pitcher position.