In a Major League Baseball game, Starting Pitchers can pitch as many innings as needed, it is up to the discretion of his Manager however Starting Pitchers must pitch 5 innings in order to qualify for a win.
A starting pitcher needs to pitch at least 5 innings to get the win. Any subsequent pitcher can get the win even if he only retires one batter (or base runner). If the starting pitcher leaves with the lead but without pitching 5 innings, and his team maintains that lead, the official scorer can decide which pitcher to give the win to.
There is no limit in regards to how many innings a Starting Pitcher must pitch in the Major League Baseball All Star game, a team can be winning and the Starting Pitcher could pitch only 2 innings but because All Star games have different rules, they can be given the Win.
The winning pitcher is determined by the official scorer, if the starting pitcher's team is in the lead and never gives up the lead for the remainder of the game. If not, the winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when his team takes and keeps the lead. To be the "winning pitcher", the starting pitcher must pitch five complete innings in a game that is scheduled for six or more innings.
A starting pitcher most pitch 6.2 innings of regulated play with the lead or retake the lead at any point with less then half the game to play ...
He must pitch a minimum of 5 complete innings.
If pitchers' team is ahead when he leaves the game (all runners left on base that score, are charged to the pitcher that left them on base), he gets the win. The pitcher must pitch at least 5 innings in a game over 6 innings to get the win. If it is a tie game and the relieving pitcher's team wins, relieving pitcher gets the win. Otherwise he is charged with the loss. If the relieving pitcher's team is winning when he enters as a pitcher and then loses the game, the relieving pitcher is charged with a loss. If the relieving pitcher's team is winning when he enters the game as a pitcher and wins, the relieving pitcher is given a Save.
Unlike the starting pitcher, a relief pitcher has no minimum number of innings pitched. Given the definition of a win, however, it's impossible for a pitcher to achieve it without pitching at least 0.1 inning (one out).
Four consecutive innings if she is the starting pitcher. There's no minimum number required for relief pitchers.
yes, if he is the starting pitcher he has to go a minimum of 5 innings and his team has to be leading when he exits the game and never lose their lead and win the game. A pitcher can win in relief if he comes in when the game is tied or his team is losing, and his team rallies after he pitches and win the game, but they can't give up their lead after he pitches or he won't get the win someone else will get the win
10.19 (a) Credit the starting pitcher with a game won only if he has pitched at least five complete innings and his team not only is in the lead when he is replaced but remains in the lead the remainder of the game.
Assuming it's an MLB game that's shortened to 6 innings, the winner would have to be the second pitcher because, by default, the starter cannot be credited with a win unless he pitches at least 5 innings.
At least five full innings, If he leaves the game before that but with the lead, he is not the winner, the umpires can give the win for whom ever they want to. Actually, it's the official scorer, not the umpires, who make this decision.
If he has pitched at least 5 innings, he can qualify for the win.
No, Because a pitcher has to throw at least five innings of work.