Best Answer

The reason for this is that the pitcher must throw 4 balls in order for it to be a walk.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why is the pitcher required to throw four balls for an intentional walk?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Why does a pitcher intentionally throw 4 balls?

Four pitches must be thrown for an intentional walk because, anything can happen. The catcher may drop one, pass ball or even a wild pitch, any one of which would benefit the batting team, if they have others on base.

How many balls can a pitcher throw in one inning without the other team scoring?

Number of Balls a Pitcher Can Throw in One InningOn the 16th bal, the original player that was "walked" will cross the home plate. So 15 balls are the most you can throw in one inning. 23 - If the pitcher picks-off 2 of the runners, he can then walk two more batters before pithing 3 balls to the final batter.I think that it could be 24. If the pitcher picks off 2 of the runners after loading the bases as you say. The pitcher walks two more hitters to load the bases. Then the pitcher throws 4 balls to the next hitter but the runner from third fails to touch home plate and on appeal, that runner is called out to end the inning.

What is intentional grounding in college football?

Yes, and being outside the tackles and throwing it passed the line of scrimmage does not matter. Can't throw the ball away in high school. There has to be a receiver in the area. Or throw the ball backwards out of bounds for a loss.

How many balls did a pitcher have to throw in order to get a walk in 1887?

In 1887, the rules were changed from 7 balls needed for a walk to 5 balls needed for a walk. In 1889, the rules were changed again to 4 balls needed for a walk and have stayed that way since.

Who was the first pitcher to throw 90mph?

who was first MLP pitcher to throw 90mph

Who are the players who throw the ball to batters?

This is the pitcher

Is it intentional grounding in the nfl if the qb does not throw the ball past the line of scrimmage?


Do all balls bounce?

No medicine balls do not bounce unless you throw them on a trampoline.

How far does a pitcher throw?

in mlb

When can a coach choose to automatically walk a batter?

Anytime a batter is at the plate, a pitcher and catcher can agree to throw nothing but balls to that batter. However, no pitcher would do so without getting an order from the manager to do so -- but, again, the manager can make that decision at any time the batter is at the plate. It is NORMALLY done as soon as the batter arrives at the plate. But, if a manager orders a pitcher to throw four un-hittable balls after the batter has swung and missed badly on the first two pitches, that would not be a violation of the rules.

What is a hitters count?

A "hitter's count" is a baseball term that means the batter has more balls than strikes in the current at bat. A count of 2 balls and 0 strikes or 3 balls and 1 strike or 3 balls and 0 strikes would be considered a "hitter's count" and a count of 2 balls and 1 strike could also be considered a "hitter's count" because if the pitcher throws a ball on the next pitch the count goes to 3 balls and 1 strike and then one more ball allows the batter to reach first base on a base on balls. So the pitcher must throw a ball over the plate and should he make just the slightest of errors allowing the ball to cross, say, the middle of the plate at belt height, the batter may be able to hit it hard somewhere to get a base hit and start a rally or knock in a run or two should there be runners on base. When the count is 3 balls and 1 strike, for example, the batter does not have to swing at a pitch that he doesn't think he can hit hard because, if the pitch is called a strike, the batter still 'alive' and able to do damage on the next pitch. When the count favors the batter, the batter can be more selective in what pitch they decide to swing at. Just like there is a "hitter's count", there is a "pitcher's count". This would be when there are more strikes than balls (0 balls and 1 strike, 0 balls and 2 strikes, 1 ball and 2 strikes). This count allows the pitcher to not have to throw a strike on the next pitch since a ball will not put the batter on base or change the count to a "hitter's count". The pitcher may try to throw something like a curve ball that starts out over the plate and then curves off the plate in the hopes that the batter will be fooled and swing at the pitch, a pitch that the batter will not be able to hit hard even should he make contact. When the count is 1 ball and 2 strikes, for example, the pitcher does not have to throw a pitch that is a strike because, if the pitch is called a ball, the pitcher can throw a strike that is not over the middle of the plate on the next pitch to get the batter out. When the count favors the pitcher, the pitcher can be more selective in what pitch they throw and the location of that pitch.

Does a pitcher have to throw to third when playing on a runner?

No, he could throw to home plate!