answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2016-03-01 01:02:09
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why is a pitcher not charged with an earned run if he commits an error?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is era in baseball?

E.R.A. stands for Earned Run Average. It is the average earned runs scored upon a pitcher per nine innings of work. It is called Earned because if a fielder makes an error allowing a runner to advance a base and that runner eventually scores, that run will not be charged to the pitcher's E.R.A.


Is a wild pitch an error?

No, a wild pitch is a wild pitch -- it is considered a mistake charged to the pitcher. An "error" in baseball is a fielding mistake. A pitcher can make an "error" but only on a batted or thrown ball.


If the pitcher threw the ball in the dirt before it reaches the catcher glove is this an error on the pitcher?

No, this would not be an error it would be ruled a wild pitch or passed ball, neither of which are charged with errors


Do walks count as earned runs?

Generally yes...if a pitcher walks a batter and he comes around to score, that is an earned run against the pitcher, unless he scores on an error Bases loaded walks that score a run also count as an earned run against the pitcher that allowed the man on third to reach base, unless he reached base on an error


If a player commits 3 passed balls putting 2 men in scoring position would committing another one mean an earned run?

In baseball, an earned run is any run for which the pitcher is held accountable (i.e. the run did not score as a result of a fielding error or a passed ball).Now, if the pitcher threw 4 wild pitches (a much more likely scenario) it would be an earned run.I like booooobies and pigs


If pitcher makes a throwing or fielding error and a run scores as a result does pitcher get earned run?

it matters if the run that scored got on by a hit or by a walk


If a pitcher records two out then the following batter reachs on an error then the batting team scores a run is that considered a earned run?

A batter that reaches base due to an error and later scores is not counted as an earned run.


Is a base on balls considered an earned run against the pitcher?

Under most circumstances, this would be an earned run, provided he eventually scores. However, there are a few cases where it would not be an earned run. One example would be if the inning is extended by an error, no runs scored after that error are earned.


Is a past ball an error?

Yes, if the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher has a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a passed ball and the error is charged to the catcher. If the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher does NOT have a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a wild pitch and the error is charged to the pitcher. Actually, a passed ball is NOT charged as an error against the catcher. It's simply charged as a passed ball. Not terribly logical, I agree, but that's the rule.


Does a pitcher get credited with an earned run if the first batter reaches on an error and later scores in the inning?

No anybody that's on because of an error is an unearned run no matter how they score


Does a pitcher get credited with an earned run if the run was originally called out but due to interference by second baseman run was counted?

No, error


If a player hits a home run and there was an error in the inning how many of the runs are earned?

if there is two outs and the error would have meant the third out, then no earned runs will be charged. In all other cases, any runner who reached base on an error will not be considered an earned run ( the batter will be an earned run if the error was not supposed to be the third out.) Any runner who reaches base on a hit or walk but advances a base because of an error will still be considered an earned run when the homerun is hit (including runners who already scored on errors)

People also asked