Best Answer

Back when there were two competing leagues Chicago had a team in each league. When the American and National leagues merged to create Major League Baseball, Chicago kept both teams. Now they have one team in each division. Just like New York has the Mets and the Yankees, Chicago has the White Soxs and the Cubs. The White Sox are in the American League, and the Cubs are in the National league.

nope that's not why. its because the cubs were there first. they sucked so bad that Chicago needed to bring in a team to make Chicago not look bad. so that's how they got the sox LOL

Because they can

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-09-13 23:49:02
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why does Chicago have two baseball teams?
Write your answer...
Related questions

What are the names of the two Chicago baseball teams?

There are two baseball teams in Chicago, IL. One of them is the Chicago White Sox who are in the American League. The other team is the Chicago Cubs who are in the National League.

How many Major League baseball teams are in Illinois?

Two. The Chicago Cubs and Chicago White Sox are Illinois' 2 teams.

How many baseball teams are in Chicago?

Two. The Chicago Cubs are in the National League and the Chicago White Sox are in the American League.

What is the two names of Illinois's major league baseball teams?

The Chicago cubs and Chicago white sox

This city in the middle west is home to two baseball teams?

Chicago Chicago White Sox and Chicago Cubs.

Which baseball teams are in Chicago?

Chicago Cubs and Chicago White Sox

What two cities each have major league baseball teams?

los angeles and chicago

What two major league baseball teams are found in Illinois?

Chicago Cubs Chicago White Sox

What baseball teams did Sammy Sosa play for?


What are the only two major league baseball teams whose mascot doesn't end in s?

the only two major league baseball teams whose mascot doesn't end in "s" are the Boston Red Sox and Chicago White Sox.

What are the six baseball teams who do not have an S at the end of their name?

there's only two MLB teams without an s at the end ,the Chicago white sox and the Boston red sox

Why is baseball significant to Chicago?

One reason is because Chicago is one of the few cities in the USA that is home to two maor league baseball teams: the Cubs are in the national league and the White Sox are in the American league. In the summer, the two teams play each other in 6 "Cross Town Classic" games which are very popular.

What city other than New York and Brooklyn has had the most baseball teams and how many teams did they have?

Chicago has two teams, the Cubs and White Sox. -----Philadelphia had 2 teams between 1901-1954. Boston had 2 teams between 1901-1953. St. Louis had two teams between 1902-1953.

What cities do not have Major League Baseball teams?

There are 30 teams in the major league including two in New York, two in Chicago and two in the Los Angeles metro area. That means their are 14 cities, or metro areas, that have the 30 teams. All other cities in the US do not have major league teams. You do the math.

What city has the fewest baseball teams?

There are only 30 MLB teams in the MLB, but there are many places with a minor league park, but there are a few cities like Chicago and Los Angels that have two MLB teams. There are many cities without any teams.

Oldest baseball team still playing?

The oldest baseball teams still playing are the Chicago Cubs and the Atlanta Braves. Both teams are charter teams of the National League when it was founded in 1876. The Cubs were the Chicago White Stockings and the Braves were the Boston Red Caps.

What are the 3 baseball teams not ending in s?

There are only two teams that end in a letter other than an "s": The Chicago White Sox and the Boston Red Sox. All other teams end in an "s" because it is plural.

Which city in America doesnt have two major league baseball teams?

every city besides New York, Chicago, and Los Angeles

What Baseball teams names don't end in S?

In the major leagues, just two, the Boston Red Sox and the Chicago White Sox.

Why does Los Angeles have two baseball teams and two basketball teams?

because they are trolls

What is the major sports in Illinois?

Illinois has many sports. Chicago has two major league baseball teams (Chicago Cubs and Chicago White Sox) , a football team (Chicago Bears), a basketball team (Chicago Bulls), hockey team Chicago Black Hawks), and a soccer team (Chicago Fire).

What states have at least two Major League Baseball teams?

New York,Chicago,Los Angeles, Chicago and Los Angeles are not states. States with two or more Major League teams are: New York, Pennsylvania, Illinois, Missouri, Florida and California (with four MLB teams).and Ohio. California has 5 MLB t eams.

What baseball team did Bob Feller play for?

Bob Feller played for two teams. The Cleavland Indians (which he also GM for) and the Chicago White Sox's

Which baseball teams play in Chicago?

The Cubs (NL) & White Sox (AL)

Which baseball teams have 10000 losses?

Chicago cubs, philadelphia phillies, atlanta braves