Best Answer

Because every sport needs to have conferences so there can be an interesting final game. This happens to be the AFC and NFC.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why are there two professional football conferences?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Why do NCAA football have conferences and not NFL?

Because the professional football and college football need distinct difference also players are still growing. College football is development and it is easier to fix throwing mechanics with a smaller football than with a bigger football.

Which conferences play in the Super Bowl?

A team from the AFC (American Football Conference) and the NFC (National Football Conference) play against each other in the Super Bowl. They are the only two conferences in the NFL.

How many conferences are there in football?

11 conferences plus 1 independent

Where can you watch college football conferences?

College football conferences can be watched from various media and social media as well as video sharing websites such as Youtube, Facebook, Veoh, Dailymotion, Pro Football Daily and other websites that have snippets of football conferences.

What are some good locations for professional conferences?

Professional Conferences should be held in professional and traditional settings, such as hotel conference rooms, local community centers, or religious venues. They can also be held online through video conferences.

How many conferences are in the North East Australian Football League?

The NEAFL is operated in two conferences: the Northern Conference, serving Queensland and the Northern Territory, and the Eastern Conference, serving New South Wales and the ACT.

How many sixteen team college football conferences are there?


What is the American football conference?

The NFL is divided into two conferences, the National Football Conference and the American Football Conference. Each conference is divided into 4 divisions, the East, South, North and West. The origin of the conferences occured after the merger between the NFL and AFL. The AFL became the AFC and was given the Steelers, Colts and Browns to even things out.

How many different division are there in the national football league?

The NFL is split in to 2 conferences - the National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC). These two conferences are then split into four divisions each, North, South, East, and West. So there is a NFC West, AFC West, NFC South, AFC South, and so on.

What was the conferences the patriots played at?

Since the AFL/NFL merger, the Patriots have always Played in the Amercian Football Conferences' East Division.

What are the two professional sports in Michigan?

football basketball baseball hockey

What is more watched professional football or college football?

professional football by a mile