Best Answer

Tie. Dale Earnhardt Sr. and Richard Petty won 7 each. But if you mean in the Winston-sponsored era, it is seven with Dale Earnhardt Sr.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who won the most Winston Cup Championships for NASCAR?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many Nascar Cup Series races and championships has Jeff Gordon won?

Jeff Gordon has won 88 Nascar Cup Series races and 4 Winston Cup Series championships.

Who is the only driver to win 3 consecutive Winston cup championships?

Cale Yarborough The only NASCAR Winston Cup driver to win three consecutive championships (1976, '77 and '78), Cale Yarborough earned 83 NASCAR Winston Cup victories and 70 pole positions in a career that spanned four decades. His win total places him fifth on the all-time list, and his pole position total is the third-most in NASCAR Winston Cup history.

What Nascar team owner won four consecutive Winston Cup Championships from 1995-1998?

Rick Hendrick

How many Nascar Cups does Jeff Gordon have?

Jeff Gordon won four championships in Nascar (1995, 1997, 1998, 2001). It was known as the Winston Cup Series when Gordon won his championships.

How many Winston Cup Series championships did Dale Earnhardt Sr. win?

Denny Hamlin has yet to win the Sprint Cup (Winston Cup in older parlance) during his career.(as of March 2010)

Which 2 drivers hold the record for the most Nascar Cup Series championships?

Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt Sr. both have a record 7 Nascar Cup championships.

What two Nascar drivers have won 7 Winston Cup Championships each As of the 1999 season?


How many Manufacturers championships has Oldsmobile won in Nascar?

Oldsmobile has won 4 Nascar Manufacturers championships in Nascar. They were in 1949 (Strictly Stock Series), 1950 (Grand National Series), 1951 (Grand National Series) and 1978 (Winston Cup Series).

Which woman has the most Nascar Winston Cup Series starts?

Janet Guthrie has 33 starts in the Winston Cup Series, the most by any woman.

Who won the Nascar 2000 Winston Cup championship?

In 2000, Bobby Labonte won the Nascar Winston Cup championship.

How many NASCAR wins does Darrell Waltrip have?

Darrell Waltrip has 84 Nascar Cup Series wins and 13 Busch Series wins.

Who won NASCAR championships for Joe Gibbs racing?

Joe Gibbs Racing has won six Nascar driver/owner championships.2000 - Bobby Labonte (Winston Cup Series)2002 - Tony Stewart (Winston Cup Series)2005 - Tony Stewart (Nextel Cup Series)2009 - Kyle Busch (Nationwide Series)2008 and 2010 - (Nationwide Series owners championship)