Best Answer

the Melbourne football club.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-09-13 21:53:56
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who won the VFL premiership in 1900?
Write your answer...
Related questions

Who won the first afl premiship?

Depends. The AFL derived from the VFL. The VFL started in 1897 and that premiership won by Essendon. The VFL was renamed AFL in 1990 and that premiership won by Collingwood.

Who won the first AFL premiership?

Collingwood in 1990, because before then it was the VFL. As originally being the VFL competition, the first Aussie Rules Premiership in the VFL was won in 1897 by Essendon.

Who won the 1877 vfl grand final?

There was no 1877 VFL grand final. The first season of the VFL was 1897. The 1897 premiership was won by Essendon.

Who won 1954 VFL premiership?


When did collingwood win their first premiership?

Collingwood won the VFA premiership in 1896. It's first VFL/AFL premiership was in 1902.

Who won the 1960 grand final?

In 1960 the VFL/AFL Premiership was won by: Melbourne

What year did collingwood win there first premiership?

Collingwood won the VFA premiership in 1896. It's first VFL/AFL premiership was in 1902.

What date did vfl become afl?

1989 - 1990 was the transition from VFL to AFL. The Collingwood football club won the first AFL premiership in 1990.

What year did vfl stop and afl stop?

well if you mean "what year did vfl stop and afl start?" then the answers is 1990 and collingwood won the first afl premiership in 1990

Who won the firs AFL premiship?

The first premiership under the name 'AFL' was won by Collingwood in 1990. However, prior to that the competition was known as the 'VFL' (Victorian Football League). Introduction of teams in Perth and Brisbane in 1987 (combined with the relocation of South Melbourne to Sydney in 1982) lead to the name VFL being unsuitable so the name was changed to AFL (Australian Football League) to better reflect the national reach of the competition. The first premiership overall (under the VFL name) was won by Essendon in 1897.

Who won the AFL 1956 Grand Final?

Melbourne won the 1956 VFL Premiership by defeating Collingwood by 73 points, 17.19 (121) to 6.12 (48).It was Melbourne's eighth VFL Premiership,they went on to win the following year to complete a historic hat-trick and two more in the 1959 and 1960 seasons, five in six seasons!

When was the first AFL Grand Final?

I' believe it was in 1897; but it was merely VFL state football back then. The previous [opening] year of the VFL, in 1896, the top team of the league after the home-and-away matches won the 'flag' with no finals. The AFL commenced in 1990: Collingwood won the premiership that year.

Who won the premiership in the 1ST AFL season?

The first AFL (meaning Australian Football League) season was in 1990 and the premiership was won by Collingwood. Before the competition became national in 1990, states ran their own separate competitions: what became the AFL was previously, largely, the VFL - the Victorian Football League. The winning team of the very first VFL season, in 1897, was Essendon.

Who coached Richmond in 1980?

Tony Jewell was the Richmond coach in 1980, during the season he lead the Tigers to their 10th VFL Premiership.He also won a premiership with the Tigers as a player in 1967.

Who won the 1971 VFL grand final?

Hawthorn beat St. Kilda for the 1971 Premiership flag. It was only the club's second premiership - the first being in 1961, when it beat Footscray [now the Western Bulldogs] for the flag.

What year did Richmond win the grand final?

Richmond has won the VFL/AFL Premiership ten times in all thus far. The club won its last premiership in 1980. It would appear gauging from the club's more recent performances that it may yet still be quite some time before the feat is repeated.

Who won the 1966 AFL Grand Final?

The 1966 VFL Grand Final was won by St. Kilda - their only premiership so far! However, strictly, there was no AFL national competition in 1966. But, effectively, the state VFL (Victorian Football League) added a few interstate clubs into the competition and became the headquarters for the AFL national competition by 1990.

When did essendon win there premierships?

Essendon have won a record-equalling 16 VFL/AFL Premierships: 1897 (first VFL/AFL premiership), 1901, 1911, 1912, 1923, 1924, 1942, 1946, 1949, 1950, 1962, 1965, 1984, 1985, 1993 and 2000.

Who won the 1897 AFL grand final?

There was no Grand Final in 1897. The VFL (as it was known then) premiership was decided by a round robin finals series. Essendon finished this series on top so was declare the Premiers.

How many premierships have the bulldogs won?

The Western Bulldogs (formerly known as Footscray) have only won 1 VFL/AFL premiership; 1954.Since then they have only made one Grand Final in 1961.

how many premierships have bulldogs won?

The Western Bulldogs (formerly known as Footscray) have only won 1 VFL/AFL premiership; 1954.Since then they have only made one Grand Final in 1961.

Who won the Premiership in the first AFL season?

1897 - the VFL's very first season, did not include a Grand Final. Instead, a round robin series was played, with Essendon becoming the first VFL premiers and Geelong the runner-up. The game did not become a 'national' competition until 1990. The Premiership in that first national season was won by the Collingwood Magpies. It could be said, however, that technically, the winner of the 1st AFL premiership was the North Melbourne Under 19's side in 1990. The Under 19's Grand Final match was traditionally played as the first 'curtain raiser' to the seniors match on the same afternoon.

How many times hav Liverpool won the premiership?

Liverpool have never won the Premiership, The Premiership was formed in 1992. They have however won the league 18 times.

Who won the 1966 vfl grand final?

st kilda football club won the 1966 vfl grand final by 1 point win over collingwood

When did the Bulldogs win their last AFL Premiership?

They have only ever won one: 1954. I think they may have beaten Melbourne that year in the Grand Final. In those days it was the VFL competition, and "the Bulldogs" was Footscray Football Club.