Best Answer

American League: Justin Verlander of the Detroit Tigers in 2006.

National League: Dontrell Willis of the Florida Marlins in 2003.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who was the last rookie pitcher to win rookie of the year?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Who was the last Tiger to be named AL Rookie of the Year?

Justin Verlander was the last Detroit Tiger to win the Rookie of the year award, in 2006.

Which black pitcher was first to win rookie of the year?

Don Newcombe of the the Brooklyn Dodgers in 1954.

Who was the last Cardinal to win Rookie of the Year?

Albert Pujols in 2001.

Who was the last New York Yankees Rookie of the Year Award winner?

Derek Jeter was the last Yankees player to win the Rookie of the Year Award. He won it in 1996.

Who was the last player for the New York Giants to win NFL Rookie of the Year?

In 1981, Lawrence Taylor was the Newspaper Enterprise Association's Rookie of the Year.

Who was the first Detroit Tiger to win the Rookie Of The Year award?

That was shortstop Harvey Kuenn in 1953. Other Tigers that have won Rookie of the Year are pitcher Mark Fidrych in 1976, second baseman Lou Whitaker in 1978, and pitcher Justin Verlander in 2006.

Who was the last Toronto Maple Leaf to win rookie of the year?

Brit Selby

How many rookie of the year awards did Johnny Bench win?

The 1968 National League rookie of the year winner was Johnny Bench. You can only win the rookie of the year one time. Your rookie season.

Who was the last number 1 pick to win the NFL rookie of the year?

George Rogers - 1981 NFL 1st Overall Pick by the New Orleans Saints Offensive Rookie of the Year no #1 overall pick has ever won the Defensive Rookie of the Year award.

What year did Johnny Bench win the Rookie of the Year?


When did Jeff Gordon get his first win as a rookie?

In 1993, Jeff Gordon won the Nascar Winston Cup Rookie of the Year Award. He did not win a race in his rookie season.

Who will win the 2009 rookie of the year?

Tony Sipp