Best Answer

No driver won the Nascar championship four times in a row, when it was called the Winston Cup Series.

Jimmie Johnson won the championship five consecutive years, from 2006-2010. In the first two it was known as the Nextel Cup, in the last three it was the Sprint Cup.

Cale Yarborough won the most Winston Cup Series championships in a row, with three, from 1976-1978.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-02-23 03:51:59
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who was the first driver in Winston Cup history to win four consecutive Winston Cups?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What driver holds the record for consecutive starts in the Nascar Nationwide Series with 360?

The record is held by Tommy Houston. He started the first 360 races in the divisions history.

Who was the first Winston Cup driver to win a race on Hoosier tires?

Neil Bonnett

What has the author Winston Smith written?

Winston Smith has written: 'The people of His pasture' -- subject(s): Church history, First United Methodist Church (Demopolis, Ala.), History

Which driver was the first to win both a Busch Series and Winston Cup Series championship?

There has never been a driver to win both the Busch (now the Nationwide Series) and the Winston Cup (now the Sprint Cup Series).

Which Charger became the first player in team history to record consecutive 2000-yard seasons?

LaDainian Tomlinson

Who is the only driver in the same year to be the Busch Series Champion and the Winston Cup Rookie of the Year winner?

In 2001, Kevin Harvick became the first and only driver to win both the Busch Series Championship and the Winston Cup Series Rookie of the Year Award in the same season.

Who was the first driver to win the Winston Cup in Nascar?

In 1971, Richard Petty won the first Nascar championship award named the "Winston Cup". Prior to this, the series was known as the Strictly Stock Series (1949) and then the Grand National Series (1950-1970).

Who was the first driver in Nascar history to win three chamionships in a row?

Cale Yarborough.

Which british wartime leader had the the first name Winston?

Winston Spencer Churchill

Who won the Winston Cup Series in 1976?

Cale Yarborough won his first of three in a row Sprint Car Championships in 1976. He is still the only driver to do that.

The sum of 3 consecutive even integers is 54 What is the first consecutive integer?

The first integer is 17.

The Jonas Brothers made history for being the first group ever to sell HOW many digital downloads for 3 consecutive singles?


People also asked