Once the ball has gone 10 yards after being kicked during a kickoff, the ball is indeed live! During a punt, however, someone on the receiving team must touch the football for it to be live. The ball is always live during a kick. The only thing in question is who can recover, and when. On free kicks (including kickoffs and free kicks following a safety), the receiving team can recover the ball at any time, and the kicking team can recover either after it has traveled 10 yards or after the receiving team touches it after any distance. On scrimmage kicks (field goals and punts), the kicking team gives up possession of the ball unless (1) the ball fails to cross the line of scrimmage, (2) the kicking team then recovers the ball, and (3) the down played was not 4th down. In any other situation, the receiving team takes the ball. Once the ball crosses the line of scrimmage, the only way the kicking team can retake possession is if the receiving team fumbles, muffs, or touches the ball and the kicking team recovers.
its a live ball if a player on the return team touches it before it goes out of bounds or before it touches a player on the kicking team. if someone on the kicking team touches it, the return team's offense starts at the spot it was touched.
A ball is always live when it's in play. If you're asking whether either team can recover it, the is no. The above mine correctly points out under what circumstances a kicking team could recover, and what causes the ball to go dead.
No it doesn't, but one of the receiving team must touch it 1st if it hasen't hit the ground to make it a live ball. Mark
no it starts with a kickoff.
It is a touchback.
it is a touchback
On a punt, the ball would simply be given to the receiving team at the 20 yard line. Touchback, no points. That's because the kicking team can't be the first to touch a scrimmage kick (punts, placekicks, dropkicks). If they do touch it first, the ball is dead and still goes to the receiving team. On a kickoff, if the ball went into the end zone and the kicking team recovered, it would be a touchdown for the kicking team. Free kicks are available for either team to recover, provided the ball has traveled at least 10 yards.
According to the NFL Rulebook: " A kickoff is illegal unless it travels 10 yards OR is touched by the receiving team. Once the ball is touched by the receiving team or has gone 10 yards, it is a free ball. Receivers may recover and advance. Kicking team may recover but NOT advance UNLESS receiver had possession and lost the ball. " According to the NFL Rules, the kicking team may not advance the ball on a kickoff unless it has been possessed first by the receiving team. In the play you saw in the Washington/Seattle playoff game, the ball went unpossessed by the receiving team when the kicking team gained control. In that case, possession is awarded to the kicking team at the spot where the kicking team gained control of the ball. no. the ball is dead where the kicking team touched it
You have 'illegal touching' on a player when a kick is touched by the kicking team. The receiving team, regardless of the outcome of the play, can choose to take the play at that spot. There is also the concept of 'touching' when a receiving player touches the ball on a kick. At that point, the kicking team can recover the kick and maintain possession. A "forced touch" is when that touch occurs because the opposing player 'forces' an opponent to touch the ball. For example, if a receiving player is being blocked by a kicking team player and the kicking team player blocks the receiving team player into the ball, the receiving team player is 'being forced to touch the ball by the block.' In this instance, the kicking team cannot recover the ball and maintain possession, because the touching of the ball by the receiving team was a 'force touch.'
There are two separate kicks (not including punts) in football, the scrimmage kick and the on-sides kick. The scrimmage kick is also known as the kickoff. A Kickoff occurs at the start of each half, after a team scores a touchdown or after a team scores a field goal. If the ball is kicked by Team A towards to opponents goal, Team B, the receiving team is given the opportunity to catch the ball. The receiving team must be given the opportunity to catch the ball. If the ball goes out of bounds in the field of play on the kickoff, it is a foul. The receiving team gains possession of the ball at the spot where the ball goes out of bounds. If the ball goes out of bounds in the end zone or hits the uprights, it is considered a touch back. The receiving team gets the ball at the 25 yard line. If Team A opts for an On-Sides kick, the ball must travel a minimum of 10 yards. If the ball travels more than 10 yards, it is considered a live ball, and any team may recover. If the ball goes out of bounds, the Receiving team retains possession at the spot where the ball goes out of bounds.
Yes, as long as no one on either team touches it before the 10 yards. After the ball travels ten yards during a kickoff it is a free ball. That's correct. Once the ball travels 10 yards, anyone can recover it.The receiving team can always recover after anydistance. So if an onside kick only travels 5 yards instead of the required 10 and the receiving team recovers, the receiving team would take possession of the ball at that spot.The 10-yard rule is a restriction on the kicking team only. The kickers cannot recover the ball until is has traveled 10 yards, UNLESS the receiving team touches the ball first. After the receiving team touches the ball, the kicking team can recover, regardless of how far the ball has traveled.
No. The kicking team is penalized if a kickoff goes out of bounds, but on a punt, the ball is put in play for the receiving team at the point where it goes out of bounds.
on the fourth corner.
The ball must travel at least ten yards and it must touch the ground . The order of these occurances does not matter. These restrictions are not in effect if the receivers touch the ball first. If the ball is touched by the receivers first either team may recover the ball but only the receivers may advance the kick.
As soon as the ball is touched by a member of the receiving team, the ball is live and can be recovered by either team. (If the receiving team does not touch the ball, then a player from the punting team can only down the ball, not recover it.)