Yes, when a fumbled ball goes out of bounds, the clock is to be stoped.
When the ball crosses the out of bounds line.
as soon as the ball hits something.
the clock stops whenever the ball goes out of bounds . Time on the clock makes no difference
The game clock stops when a ball carrier goes out of bounds maintaining forward momentum. The game clock continues if the ball carrier's forward momentum is stopped in bounds before he goes out of bounds. For most of the game, the clock is restarted when the line judge resets the ball and whistles play to continue. The exception is in the last 2 minutes of the first half or the last 5 minutes of the second half. In those cases, the clock does not start again until the offense snaps the ball.
Only if he has the ball.AnswerYes. The clock always stops when the ball goes out of bounds. It doesn't matter how it got there. Wrong - Although I don't feel it is a good rule, in college football if a player steps out of bounds going backwards and does not display a foward advance while carrying the ball the clock keeps running.
Short answer: Yes, but a 2008 rule change allows the clock to restart on a referee's signal. This from the NCAA rules: Ball Out Of Bounds (Rule 3-2-5-a-12). When a ball is carried or fumbled out of bounds, the game clock will stop, as always. Beginning in 2008 the game clock will start on the referee's signal when the ball is ready for play, not on the snap. In the last two minutes of the half, however, the clock will start on the snap as before, preserving the ability of the offensive team to maximize strategic use of the clock.
The clock stops when the ball goes out of bounds. If a quarterback doesn't have a play because the defense has thoroughly covered anyone who can legally receive, he'll throw the ball out of bounds to stop the clock and allow the team to try a different play.
Penalties(If a flag is thrown), an incomplete pass, the ball carrier stepping out of bounds, change of possession, the quarterback spiking the ball, and timeouts stop the clock.
Yes. The clock stop and then restarts when the ball is thrown in and touches a player.That is partially correct but not in most situations. The clock does not stop even if the ball is out of bounce. It only stops when there are only a couple of minutes/seconds left in a quarter, especially the 4th when it is a tight game.
Yes, the clock stops when a player goes out of bounds, not only in NFL playoff games but in any football game at any level. The only exception is if the player's forward momentum is stopped before reaching the sideline.
In 1987 the rules were amended as follows:In order to stop the clock, the quarterback is permitted to throw the ball out of bounds or to the ground as long as he throws it immediately after receiving the snap.