answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

When the batter hits a fly ball and there are less than 2 out the runners have to stay where they are until either the ball is caught or until they know for a fact that the ball won't be caught. If the ball is caught, they have to tag up, otherwise they can just keep on running.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-02-06 19:16:27
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When must a base runner tag up to advance to the next base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Runner on base advance after a fly ball catch in foul territory?

yes, but runner must not advance to next base until ball is caught by defensive player.


What if Two player are on the same base at the same time?

In baseball? This is not allowed. The lead runner must attempt to advance to the next base; if it is tagged with the ball before the runner reaches it that runner is out.


Why does a second baseman have to tag a base stealer?

Any time a runner is not forced to advance to the next base, the defensiver player must tag the runner. If a runner is attempting to steal 2nd, either the 2nd baseman or the shortstop must tag the runner.


What is a base runner's successful advance from one base to the next on his own?

strikers zone


Can a runner return to first base on a ground ball without being out?

No, when a ball is hit on the ground, the runners must try and advance to the next base.


What is a kick ball force out?

When the ball is kicked and the runner has to advance to the next base


If there is a foul tip into the catchers glove and is caught can the runner advance to the next base?

A Foul Tip, which is different than a Foul, is a live ball, and runner's can advance.


What do you call it in softball when a player must run to the next base because the batter has become a base runner?

It's called a force. The runner is being forced to proceed to the next base by the batter/runner.


What is a 'forced run' in softball?

FORCE RUN: A runner does not have to advance to the next base unless someone is behind him/her running to the base that the first runner is on. If there is a runner, and you are forced to advance to the next base, it is a forced run. For example, a batter hits the ball and safely runs to second base (making sure to step on 1st base). The next batter hits the ball but only runs to first base. The first runner therefore does not have to run to third base. Now there are two runners on bases and the next hit would make both runners run to the next base. When runners are forced to run, the fielders only have to throw the ball to the next base with somebody catching it. If a runner runs at will (that is not being forced to run), then the fielder must touch the player with ball and not just the base. If not a forced run, you have to tag the runner. If it is a forced run, you tag the base.


Can a boy when he steals 2nd base and the throw to 2nd goess into outfield can the runner advance to 3rd or is this a one base at a time deal?

When the ball is in play, a base runner can always ATTEMPT to advance to the next base. He is allowed to advance to next base if the ball was badly thrown during an attempted steal of an earlier base. Note that, if the outfielder throws the ball to third base and the third baseman tags the runner before he gets to third base, the runner is out -- just like any other attempt to "steal" a base.


Does the runner have to wait until the ball has been hit to advance to next base?

No, he can advance by stealing the base, or advance on a wild pitch, passed ball, catcher interference or a pitcher's balk.


What is the baseball tag up rule?

The runner must remain on the base until the ball is in the fielders glove. Once the fielder has the ball securely(in the glove and the glove closed), the runner can advance to the next base. The fielder can throw you out at the base.Actually the runner may leave the base once the ball is touched by a fielder.


Is there a rule in little league that you have to steal bases?

No. You don't have to steal. But you do have to advance to the next base if a runner is about to occupy the base you just left from.


When should a baserunner may run to the next base without being dismissed?

There are a few times a base runner may advance without fear of being put out. If the base runner is forced to the next base by a batter/runner being walked or hit by a pitch and for an illegal pitch being called on the pitcher.


When a base runner passes another runner he is out what happens to the runner he passed Is he out or continues to run to the next base?

The player who passed another on the base paths is out, the runner that was passed can continue to run to the next base.


Where does the ball need to be hit in order for a runner to have tag-up in basebal?

Any time a ball is caught by a fielder prior to the ball hitting the ground, with that catch not being the third out, any base runner can IN THEORY advance to the next base after the catch is made. However, if the fielder throws the ball to the base the runner is trying to get to, and the runner is tagged before reaching that base, that runner is also out. Thus, in a practical sense, the ball needs to be hit sufficiently far that the fielder, after catching the ball, could not throw the ball to the base, the runner would try to advance to, before the runner actually got to that base. That distance depends on how well the fielder can throw the ball and how fast the runner can get to the next base.


What must happen to a base runner to be called out?

a fielder must have the ball in their glove or hand and touch ( or tag) the base runner He could also get out if he were to leave a base early before the next batter has hit he ball :) Mo Fo


What is the perfect softball hit?

The perfect softball hit is when the batter is able to reach on base because of the hit. The perfect softball hit is also when you are able to advance the runner to the next base or have the runner get a score. Homerun


When do youn tag a runner in softball?

You can tag a runner anytime but it's most important to tag a runner when it's not a force out play. When a baserunner runs to the next base without a runner behind him he must be tagged out before reaching base.


Is the runner alllowed to advance after he is hit by a thrown ball and it goes out of bounds?

YES... the ball is always live till the umpire stops play ... if the ball goes into the dugout the runner get one (1) base if the goes into the stands the runner take two (2) bases... if there's a runner on base they take the next open base...


If a batter hits the ball and the ball hits a runner leaving 2nd base the runner is out Is the batter out Do the other 2 baserunners get to advance to the next base?

When the ball hits the baserunner it is a dead ball at the runner the ball hit is out. The batter is credited with a single. Since the batter is given a single, any baserunner required to advance will advance, however, no runners ahead of the runner who was out will advance: i.e bases loaded, the runner at 2nd is hit by the ball, the runner at 2nd is out, the runner at 1st goes to 2nd and the batter goes to first. the runner at 3rd does not get to advance, he will stay at 3rd, so the bases will remain loaded runners at 2nd and 3rd, -- the ball hits the guy at 3rd base (while he is in fair territory), runner at 3rd is out, runner at 2nd returns to 2nd, and batter goes to first, you now have runners on 1st and 2nd hope this helps


Who is out if 2 players occupy the same base and no one is tagged?

Actually they are both safe... for now, but play is still live. The lead runner is safe. The trailing runner has to go back to his previous base before being tagged out or running out of the baseline. Or, the lead runner has to advance to the next base before being tagged out, leaving the trailing runner safe at the double-occupied base.


What is a sacrifice fly?

It is a fly ball that's hit deep enough to the outfield so a base runner can successfully advance to the next base. The batter is not charged with an at bat, but credited with a sacrifice and does not effect his batting average..When a runner is on 3rd and scores on the play, an RBI is credited to the batter.


How can a base runner advance on a caught fly ball?

If a baserunner goes back and touches/or stands (this is called 'tagging up') on the base the they started on after the ball is caught he can then advance to the next base(s). If you do not go back and 'tag' the base after the ball is caught, the defensive team can throw the ball to the base you started on and you will be out


Can base runners advance on a hit by pitch?

When a batter is hit with a ball, it is a dead ball. Runners may advance to the next based only if they are forced to do so (e.g. If there are runners on first and third, only the runner on first may advance because they are 'forced' to go to second. The runner on third remains on third).