answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

When there isn't a runner behind them forcing them to run. For example, if a runner is on 2nd base but there is no one on 1st base, the runner must be tagged on their way to 3rd in order to get them out. However, if there IS a runner on 1st, the 3rd baseman can simply touch the base because it is a force out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-04-06 20:40:07
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When must a base runner be tagged in softball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When is tagging used in softball?

When the runner is not required to run to a base she/he must be tagged in order to be out. (like when stealing)


When do youn tag a runner in softball?

You can tag a runner anytime but it's most important to tag a runner when it's not a force out play. When a baserunner runs to the next base without a runner behind him he must be tagged out before reaching base.


If it is not forced out what must happen to a base runner to be called out in softball?

the fielder must tag the base runner


What happens if two runners occupy the same base and are not tagged out?

"If the runner who first occupied that base never left it, he is safe and the second runner is out." That's incorrect. The lead runner is entitled to the base, so if he never leaves it, he is safe. The following runner must be tagged out. If he is able to return to the preceding base without being tagged out or going outside his baseline, he is safe. If the lead runner vacates the double-occupied base and reaches the next base, he is safe and the following runner is safe at the preceding base.


What if Two player are on the same base at the same time?

In baseball? This is not allowed. The lead runner must attempt to advance to the next base; if it is tagged with the ball before the runner reaches it that runner is out.


Is a runner out if the ball gets to home base before them?

not unless the bases are loaded, creating a force at home for the runner on third otherwise the runner must be tagged to be put out


What do you call it in softball when a player must run to the next base because the batter has become a base runner?

It's called a force. The runner is being forced to proceed to the next base by the batter/runner.


Is it still considered a force if with a runner on first the fielder chooses to throw to first but the runner is safe but the runner from first falls and the first baseman throws to second base?

Once the batter/runner is forced out at 1st base, the force out of all other base runners is no longer in effect. Therefore, even if the original runner at 1st falls, he must be tagged out. He could, in fact, return to first and be safe there if he is not tagged out.


What if a runner rounds third then retreats only to find a runner from second is now on third and he retreats to second but is tagged out what happens to the runner on third?

Lead runner has the right to the bag as long as they are not being forced ahead by occupants of other bases. If the runner on 3rd was not being forced they can return to the bag and the runner from 2nd must return to 2nd. The runner returning to second if tagged is out and unless the runner returning to 3rd is tagged while off the base then they are safe. If both runner attempt to occupy the base at the same time and fielder tags both runners while they occupy the base the runner from 2nd is out unless they are being forced ahead then the runner from 3rd is out.


Can all bases be overran in a softball game?

No, you can only overrun first base and home. Also, when overrunning first base, you must run in a straight line or you can be tagged out. If you make an "attempt" to go to second, you can be tagged out. Depending on the umpire, you must turn away from second to go back to the base.


What bases must a player be tagged in softball?

It doesn't go by base-for force plays, you only have to touch the base. You tag the player on a steal, or when nobody is behind the player.


In softball if a Batter is hit by a pitch as the runner on second is trying to steal third base is the runner allowed third or must they go back to second base?

they must go back,dead ball after hitting batter


What are the four ways a batter can get out in softball?

1. 3 strikes are called ("strikeout") 2. the ball hit by the batter is caught before hitting the ground ("flyout") 3. first baseman catches the ball before the batter runs there 4. the batter doesn't stand in the batter's box 5. the batter runs to a base that has already been tagged ("tagged" or "tag play") 6. the runner is tagged with the ball before reaching a base 7. the runner goes more than 3 feet out of the base line to avoid being tagged 8. the runner doesn't touch the bases (the runner is allowed to run past first but must touch second and third) 9. a fielder holding the ball touches a base, that is the only remaining base to which the runner can go, before the runner gets there


In softball a runner already occupies 1st then ball is thrown OB so 1st base runner awarded third base on a dead ball but runner goes directly to third without touching 2nd base so is the runner out?

The rules state that runners must advance by legally touching each base in succession. In this case, the runner must touch 2B before advancing to 3B, and if she does not, she can be called out on appeal.


Can you slide into first base in little league baseball?

Don't know if it's illegal in Little League to slide into first base, but it certainly isn't necessary. The reason for sliding into a base is to try to keep the baseman from tagging the runner. Runners going to 2nd, 3rd, or homeplate must be tagged out unless it is a forced run, in which case the baseman just tags the base. Running to first base does not require a runner to slide since the runner doesn't have to be tagged at first. All the baseman has to do is tag the base.


Is a runner out if a fielder has the ball in his hand and touches the base with his glove?

If the play at the base is a force out, yes. MLB rules state that a player must have complete control of the ball with the glove or bare hand for an out to be recorded. Control of the ball with the hand or glove and contract with the base is what is needed to make a force out. The rule is different, however, if the play is a tag play instead of a force out. In that case, if the fielder had the ball in his hand and tagged the runner with the glove, the runner would be safe. On tag plays the runner must be tagged with the ball or with the glove that is securely holding the ball.


How long must a player hold onto a ball after he has tagged out a runner?

There is no set time a player must hold on to a ball after catching either a batted or a thrown ball - the rule only states that he must maintain "control" of the ball. If the umpire rules that a fielder has control of the ball and then tagged a runner that was off-base, that runner is instantly 'Out' and the fielder need not maintain control of the ball after that. He can immediately throw the ball elsewhere, or even drop it, and the runner would still be out.


In baseball when a basemen has to tag the runner?

A runner must be tagged to be Out if he is not forced to advance as a result of the batter putting the ball into play.


In slow pitch softball if the batter-runner is hit by his own batted ball while running to first base he is out can the runners on base advance or must they remain at their base?

batter is out, runners do not advance


If you are a forced runner in baseball and make it to base before the ball gets there and get off the base but get back on it do you need to be taged out or does the ball just have to be on the base?

If you reach the base before the ball but overrun the base, you must then be tagged out. Once you reach the base it is no longer a force play and the fielder must tag you off the base to make an out.


Men on 1st 2nd- batter hits ground ball-runner on 2nd goes to 3rdstays on base- hitter runs to firststays on base- 1st base runner goes to 2nd and over runs it does second baseman have to tag runne?

Yes. Runner on 1st has reached 2nd and eliminated the "force" out, but after overrunning the bag, he must be tagged out.


Is there an actual rule in the MLB rule book that states that a tie does in fact go to the runner?

The rule is rule 6.05 the subsection is (j). Here is what it says, "After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base" In a tie the runner or the base is not tagged BEFORE the runner touches first so it can be interpreted as a tie goes to the runner. But it really is that the base or runner must be tagged before the runner reaches the base. Rule 6 applies specifically to the batter. Rule 7 applies to all runners. Rule 7.08 subsection (e) states that: Any runner is out when He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner. In this situation, the "tie" goes to the fielder. So putting these two rules together, a tie goes to the batter/runner at first and to the fielder for all other bases. In actual practice, umpires are instructed that there is no such thing as a tie and that they must determine what has happened first. Well actually according to Tim McClelland, MLB Umpire Crew Chief, a tie does not go to the runner, in the rules it states that a runner must beat the ball to the base so in fact the tie does not go to the runner.


What is a tag up in softball?

a tag up is when the batter hits a pop-fly and the runner(s) on base must go back to the base touch it and then can continue to run. If they do not tag up they can be called out if they dont run back to the base.


Can you tag the base with your bare hand with the ball in your glove?

The official rules state that a fielder need only hold a ball in his hand and touch a base. If the runner is forced to that base and the fielder touches the base while he is holding the ball, he is out. It does not say he has to step on the base. It just says he has to touch it. The runner, on the other hand, must be tagged with the hand that holds the ball.


How do you get an out in softball?

There are many ways including tagging a runner with the ball, striking a batter out, thowing the ball to a teammate on a base and then she must step on the base before the runner gets there, catcing a ball, and there are others. I would consult a recent rulebook to find other rules that could cause outs.