answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, whether in Basketball or Football, a player may not step out of bounds and receive the ball.

However, once another player touches the ball, other than the one currently holding the ball, that player may receive the ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-02-03 21:36:12
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When inbounding a pass can someone run out of bounds and be the first player to receive the pass?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Red takes ball out of bounds after foul. Red player inbounding ball takes a step and official calls traveling while out of bounds. Correct call?

yes


When can you step out of bounds in basketball and pass the ball to another one of your team members standing out of bounds?

You can never have possession of the ball, inbounds, and step out of bounds without the ball turning over to the other team. When inbounding a ball, it is allowed for the player with the ball to pass it to another player that is standing out of bounds on the same boundry line.


Do high school rules allow for two players to run out of bounds after a made basket and one player pass the ball to another player along the baseline before inbounding the ball?

yes


Can a offense player go out of bounds then return to the field and receive a ball?

No...he becomes ineligible whereas a Defensive player can go out of bounds and come back in.


Does the referee have to give the ball to the player when inbounding the ball?

yes except when one teams player is inbounding the ball because the other team has scored.


Can a player inbounding ball advance it down the court before another teammate touches the ball?

The player inboundin the ball can throw it all the way down the court, but someone else has to touch the ball once inbounded before the person inbounding the ball to touch it


Can a player step out of bounds then come back in and receive the next pass?

Yes, that is allowed in basketball.


Can a player run out of bounds then catch a pass in bounds?

Only if the player was forced out of bounds by a defensive player.


Can you run out of bounds to get around someone and come back in bounds to continue play during a game of football?

If the player with the ball steps out of bounds, the play is over. If another player steps out of bounds, he cannot rejoin that play unless he was forced out by an opponent.


Can a player who is out of bounds direct the ball back in bounds and continue play?

No. Once the ball touches a player that is out of bounds, the ball is considered out of bounds.


When does the 5 count stop during an out of bounds play does it start when it is released from the inbounders hands or when it is touched by someone already inbounds?

out of the hands of the player out of bounds


If a player is laying out of bounds and another player is on top of the player laying out of bounds but not touching the ground is the player laying on top also out of bounds?

i believe so

People also asked