yes, if he is the starting pitcher he has to go a minimum of 5 innings and his team has to be leading when he exits the game and never lose their lead and win the game. A pitcher can win in relief if he comes in when the game is tied or his team is losing, and his team rallies after he pitches and win the game, but they can't give up their lead after he pitches or he won't get the win someone else will get the win
The winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when the winning run is scored.
If pitchers' team is ahead when he leaves the game (all runners left on base that score, are charged to the pitcher that left them on base), he gets the win. The pitcher must pitch at least 5 innings in a game over 6 innings to get the win. If it is a tie game and the relieving pitcher's team wins, relieving pitcher gets the win. Otherwise he is charged with the loss. If the relieving pitcher's team is winning when he enters as a pitcher and then loses the game, the relieving pitcher is charged with a loss. If the relieving pitcher's team is winning when he enters the game as a pitcher and wins, the relieving pitcher is given a Save.
the pitcher who started the game always gets the win
The pitcher is on the mound so he can't charge it. The batter charges it from the plate.
If a relief pitcher enters the game with a 2 ball 0 strikes on the batter and the batter receives a base on balls it is charged to the preceding pitcher. Any other action such as a base hit, fielder's choice, reaching base on an error, etc., is charged to the relief pitcher. (Rule 10.18 (g)).
With no addtional information available, the winning pitcher is the relief pitcher who came in in the 4th inning. Remember, a starting pitcher must pitch five complete innings before he can be credited with a win.
As of 2009 the last pitcher to win the National League MVP Award was Bob Gibson in 1968.
The winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when the winning run was scored. This could be the relief pitcher even though he gave up four runs, blowing the lead, if said relief pitcher was the pitcher of record when the winning run was scored. The starting pitcher, even though he pitched well in this situation, cannot be credited the win.
A no decision is given to a starting pitcher who does not get credit for either a win or a loss for that game. A starting pitcher may come out for a relief pitcher with the score tied. Only the pitchers in the game when the final go-ahead run is scored get credit for a win or loss.
Unlike the starting pitcher, a relief pitcher has no minimum number of innings pitched. Given the definition of a win, however, it's impossible for a pitcher to achieve it without pitching at least 0.1 inning (one out).