Want this question answered?

Be notified when an answer is posted

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When does a catcher back up first base?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

When there are No men on base there is a hit to third base and then over thrown to first who backs up first base?

The second baseman and the right fielder will back up to the left and down the line and the catcher will run down the first base line in foul territory to back up to the right.

When coming back to first base from leading off on first base do you come back to the inside or outside of first base when coming back standing up?

Normally you go to the side of the base that is farthest from the pitcher.

What is the rule for a catcher to be up the thirds base line?

I heard that if they are "up the line" you can't slide or avoid the tag there for "railroading' the catcher.

Can a player back up a catcher during an intentional walk in major league baseball?

no, a player cannot back up a catcher in an intentional walk.

How many players are infield on the baseball?

Softball uses the same fielding as baseball, assuming you're talking about high school level and up. Pitcher, catcher, one player at each base plus a shortstop. Three in the outfield for a total of 9.

Can a catcher use his mask to pick up a foul ball?

No, the catcher can not pick up the foul ball with his mask. If so, a base is rewarded to the batter.

Is it legal to have the third baseman stand near the backstop to back up the catcher during an intentional base on balls?

yes because you have nine player on the field

If the catcher is up to bat and hits it and makes it on base but there is no outs and the coch pulls him off base can the coach do that to the catcher?

The coach can pull any player at anytime except for the pitcher when he has faced no batter ...

What is the baseball catchers speed up rule?

Catcher's "Speed up Rule": with 2 outs, or an inning about to end, if your catcher for next inning is on base, remove him for a pinch runner and get their Catcher's Gear on before your team goes out to the field defensively.

Does anyone have the complete rules for the 1968 Lakeside Toys game 3 Blind Mice?

Number of Players 2 to 4. Object of Game- First Player to get 18 chips is the winner. To Start the game- Each player recieves nine chips. First player to roll a green spot is the "Catcher". Other players select a mouse and place mouse on base, hlding it by the tail. Catcher rolls color cube by using "Cheese Wedge" as shaker. Rules of the Game_ When a Blue or green spot turns up, the players must pull their mice off the base before the catcher traps them with the "cheese wedge". If the mouse is caught, the player pays the catcher one chip. If his mouse is not caught, the player is not paid a chip by the catcher. If all the mice escape, the catcher exchanges the "Cheese Wedge" for the mouse of the player on his left and this player now becomes the catcher. When a black or white spot turns up, the players must leave thier mice on the base. If a player pulls his mouse off the base when black or white turns up, he pays the catcher one chip. However, if the catcher should touch the base with the "cheese wedge" to the player on his left, and pays one chip to each of the mice still on the base. The player on his left now becomes the catcher. When a player has lost all his chips he is out of the game. As soon as one player has 18 chips he is the winner and the game is over. Copied from 1967 instruction book

If there’s two outs runner at third and the batter swings at strike three but the catcher misses the ball and goes to the back stop the runner at third comes to home but the catcher gets the out at first is the runner at third save or out?

When does it matter? A dropped third strike only matters when first base is unoccupied OR there are two outs. If there is a runner on first base and less than two outs, then a dropped third strike doesn't matter and the batter is out. What can the batter Do? Once a batter either looks at strike three or swings and misses at strike three and the ball is either not caught or dropped by the catcher, the batter becomes a runner and can attempt to make it to first base before either being tagged by the catcher or thrown out at first base. What if the pitch bounces? 99.99% of the time it is not a legal catch and the catcher (even if he fields the bounced pitch cleanly) must tag out the runner or throw him out at first base. Rule 6.05 specifies that a batter is out when a third strike is legally caught by the catcher and goes on to state that this must occur before the ball hits the ground. 0.01% of the time (and no these are not official calculations) the bounced pitch that is fielded by the catcher would be considered a legal catch. This can happen if the hitter swings and fouls off the pitch into the catcher's glove after the pitch has bounced. It is considered a legal catch at that point and the batter is out. What if the runner at first is stealing? If there are less than two outs, it doesn't matter. Even on an attempted steal, first base is considered occupied and the batter is out. What happens when there are two outs? When there are two outs the same rule applies with the addition that first base can be occupied. In this situation a force play can be created on other bases in addition to either tagging out the batter or throwing him out at first. Example: Bases loaded, two outs. Catcher drops the third strike. A force play has now been created at all bases as all runners must try to advance. Catcher can simply step on home plate for the force at home and third out. He doesn't have to make the out on the batter. What if a runner crosses the plate before the batter is thrown out at first or tagged? The run does not count. Example: Runner on third, two outs. Catcher drops the third strike, while he is picking it up and throwing to first, the runner from third crosses home plate. As long as the catcher throws out the runner at first, the run doesn't count. The force play at first is the same as if a ground ball was hit to another infielder. The run doesn't count.

When an a catcher get credit for a putout without touching the ball?

If there is a runner on first base and less than 2 outs, and on the third strike to the batter the catcher misses the ball entirely, the batter is still out and the catcher is credited with the putout. If a runner is one first base with less then 2 outs, a missed 3rd strike is not officially recorded as a putout by the catcher as there is nowhere for the runner to go as the batter cannot advance in this situation. The only time a catcher or any other position player can get a put out without touching the ball is in the case of runner-interference - - i.e. The batter pops up a ball a runner (either the batter or a guy from 3rd) runs into the catcher, not allowing him a chance to make a play on the ball -- the runner would be called out and the catcher would be credited with the out) -- another scenerio would be a bunt or swinging bunt where the batter makes contact with the ball in fair territory (not in batters box) -- this would be a batted ball touched by a base runner in fair territory -- the batter would be out, with the recorded out going to the closest position player (in this scenerio, that would be the catcher)