answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, a batter can show bunt and then pull back and swing. It is fairly common.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-03-29 13:28:23
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When bunting can the batter show bunt then pull back and swing?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Batter squares to bunt and doesnt swing?

a bunt is not a swing unless the plain of the plate is broken ... and or the batter dose not pull back the bat when the pitch is made ...Answer:I understand this question asking, "What happens if a batter squares to bunt but pulls back on the pitch?" --- if this is the situation, then when the batter pulls back the bunt the pitch would be called a ball or strike just like any other pitch. If he does not pull the bat back before the ball crosses the plate then it is a strike, much like a missed swing


When bunting can a little league batter show bunt and then pull back and swing?

MLB players do that sometimes. I don't see why the rules would be different in little-league. A player can hit the ball with the bat in any way he pleases.


When bunting in live baseball does the batter have to remove the bat from the strike zone t?

if the batter is in bunting position(with the bat over the plate) he needs to pull the bat back. Otherwise strike. And if he has 2 strikes and fouls off a bunt its considered strike three.


What are 3 ways a strike is called on a batter for softball?

The batter watches a strike go by and doesn't swing the bat. A batter swings at a strike and misses. A batter swings at a ball and misses. A batter could also attempt to bunt on the third strike, bunting it foul would lead to the batter being called out.


What is a fake bunt pulled back to a full swing called?

fake bunt hit


If batter hit on hand while bunting does he walk?

If the batter is hit while still holding the bat across the plate attempting to bunt, then it is called a strike. But, if the batter pulls back the bat and gets hit by the pitch then he goes to first with a HBP.


What does the term dragging mean?

Drag is a bunting term used mainly by left-handed batters. It is the act of bunting the ball while starting to run towards first base. Drag bunting is not a sacrifice bunt. If there are any runners on base and a batter drag bunts, the Official Scorer will not credit the batter with a sacrifice so long as he makes it obvious he is bunting for a single. It is the Official Scorer's decision whether or not a sacrifice is granted in a bunt.


What does the baseball term drag mean?

Drag is a bunting term used mainly by left-handed batters. It is the act of bunting the ball while starting to run towards first base. Drag bunting is not a sacrifice bunt. If there are any runners on base and a batter drag bunts, the Official Scorer will not credit the batter with a sacrifice so long as he makes it obvious he is bunting for a single. It is the Official Scorer's decision whether or not a sacrifice is granted in a bunt.


What is a fake bunt in softball?

A fake bunt is when you pretend to bunt the ball so you get down to your bunting position and once she releases the ball you pull the bat back up and hit it instead of hitting it.


What are the syllables of bunting?

bunt-ing


If the batter swings and the ball hits his hand?

If the batter swings and the ball hits anywhere but the bat the pitch is called a strike. Even if it hits the person batting, while swinging, but if he is bunting and gets hit it is not a strike There is no rule that states that if a batter is attempting to bunt and a pitched ball hits him that the pitch is anything but a strike. In short, if a batter is hit during any type of swing, the pitch is ruled a strike.


What is a slash bunt?

A slash bunt is when the batter attemps to bunt the bat and while the ball comes back the batter swings instead of bunts and the main point of this is to hit it right by the foul line over the heads of the third and first basemen


What are the different types of bunting?

sacrafice, bunt for a hit, squeeze


What is bunting in softball?

To bunt in softball, you square your body to the pitcher. Once the pitcher releases the bal you try to hit it within 3-4 feet in front of you. Sometimes players bunt the ball to try to get on base. This is called bunting for a hit. Most other times bunting is used to move other runners over to the next base. This is called a sacrifice bunt. If the batter is called out, the at bat is not counted in their batting average. It is counted as a "SAC." A suicide squeeze is another way that the bunt is used. On the release of the pitch the runner at third base runs as if they are stealing the base. The runner at third base is trying to cross the plate before they are tagged out. This is also counted as a SAC if the batter is called out.


On a third strike why can you foul tip the ball many times but if you try to bunt and nick the ball you are out?

It's important to know that there are different types of bunts. There's bunting for a base hit, swinging bunts and, most commonly used, sacrifice bunts. The limited foul attempt rule is in effect for all bunts. However, for the first two aforementioned types, the batter is trying to get on base; thus, is wary of the ball/strike count and will rarely attempt a bunt with a two strike count. The only instance the rule comes into play is when a player is asked to lay down a sacrifice bunt in order to advance a base runner.A sacrifice bunt is viewed as the simplest way to put the ball into play. A batter performs a sacrifice bunt by holding the bat in the strike zone until the ball meets the bat. Due to the apparent simplicity, the umpire, in attempt to move the game along, will not allow an unlimited amount of foul attempts. Answer Actually, when you foul tip a ball on the third strike you're out!And a foul tip is when the batter skims the ball and the ball goes into the catchers glove.ClarificationThe first answer given is completely wrong. The umpire makes no assumption on the reasoning behind why a batter is bunting. A sacrifice bunt can be performed with 0 strikes just as a bat for a hit can be performed with 2 strikes - the rule applies to both of these. A "swinging bunt" is not defined in the Rules; it is a term used to describe when a batter swings, but the ball only goes a few feet, much like a bunt.When there is any "swinging motion" whether a full swing, half swing, check swing or "swinging bunt", the 2 strike bunt rule does not apply. This has been a rule as long as baseball has been around. A logical reason for it would be to level the playing field for pitchers and batters alike -- it wouldn't be very fair for a pitcher if a batter were given chance after chance to lay down a bunt until successful. The same reason is behind the 2 strike caught foul tip on a swing rule.


How many syllables are there in the word bunting?

There are two syllables. Bunt-ing.


When can a batter not bunt?

A batter can bunt anytime ...whether it's wise to bunt is a different story.


If a right-handed batter bunts down the first base line is it considered a drag bunt?

A batter attempts a drag bunt when he begins running while bunting the ball. Righthanded batters can do it, but it is easier for lefthanded hitters because they are closer to first base.AnswerNo, that would not be a drag bunt. If a right hander ever did a slap bunt they would have to take off running out of the batters box towards 3rd and drag it down the 3rd base line. Your question is a push bunt as you are "pushing" the ball away from you, rather then "dragging" it with you. The reason right handers don't "drag bunt" is because well 1 as mentioned above they would have to run towards 3rd if they did do it, but the main reason is because if they tried to run towards 1st as they are bunting, they would have to cross the path of the plate making it impossible to hit or bunt the ball. You will see right handers "walk the box" which is similar to what a left hander does on a drag bunt


If a batter fouls on a bunt on the third strike is he out?

If the batter has 2 strikes and attempts to bunt but fouls the ball he is out.


What if a batter steps on the plate while batting?

When a batter has attempted a swing or a bunt the momentum can carry him out of the batter's box and cause him to step on home plate. Once the batter has struck at a ball or attempted a bunt, he is allowed to step out of the box, even if he steps on home plate. He cannot do so any other time during his at-bat. Unless "Time" is called, he must keep at least one foot inside the batter's box.


If a ball hits the dirt then the batter What is the call?

There is alot of answers to this questions. If the batter is inside the batters box then it is a foul ball even if the ball hit fair territroy first. If the batter is outside the batter's box then the batter is called out. But if the batter is bunting with a 2 strike count and touches the ball inside the batter's box, then he is out because it is considered to be a fould ball and a two strike foul ball bunt is an out. Also if the batter bunts with a one strike count or less and touches the ball inside the batter's box then it is a fould ball but again if he touched the ball after bunting the ball outside the batter's box then it is an out.


If a hitter motions for a bunt and doesnt make contact and the pitch is a ball is the batter charged with a strike or ball?

if the batter doesnt pulll back the bat its considered a strike It depends If the bat passes the front of the plate then it is a strike If the bat stays behind the plate it is the ball It is determined the same way that a held swing is


Can a batter be called out on a bunted ball that goes foul?

Yes. If a batter attempts a bunt when there are two strikes and the bunt is ruled foul, the batter is called out and a strikeout is awarded to the pitcher's stats.


When bunting in Little League does the batter have to remove the bat from the strike zone or is this considered offered at or attempt?

In little league like the majors when bunting and you miss the pitch it is a strike. It depends on the umpire; if he thinks the batter offered at the pitch, he will call the strike. Simply holding the bat in the strike zone is not offering at the pitch unless the umpire decides that. It is a safer bet to teach your batters to pull the bat out of the strike zone if they decide to not bunt at the pitch.


Is a slap bunt that goes foul on the third strike a out?

Any bunt that goes foul on a third strike is an out, so long as the umpire rules it a bunt. If the batter crosses legs to attempt a slap bunt, it will be ruled a bunt.

People also asked

When bunting can a little league batter show bunt and then pull back and swing?

View results