If a field goal attempt is deflected by an opposing player, that deflection is considered a Blocked attempt.
It depends on why it didn't cross the line of scrimmage. A blocked kick, whether a field goal attempt or a punt, is a live ball. Either team may attempt to advance the ball (but no forward passes are permitted).A field goal attempt or punt that is kicked so poorly that it does not reach the line of scrimmage is governed by the normal rules of the type of kick, a field goal attempt is a live ball and may be advanced by either team, a punt must be touched first by the receiving team.So, if a punt or field goal attempt does not reach the line of scrimmage and is recovered by the opponent, they will receive 1st & 10 from where they recovered it (and advanced it to, if applicable).
Only if the ball had crossed the line of scrimmage.
Both the offense and defense can score on a blocked field goal. The defense can recover a blocked field goal and advance it regardless of where they recover it. The offense can recover a blocked field goal and advance it as long as the ball has not passed the original line of scrimmage.
By rule, if you kick the ball during a scrimmage down, it's called a "scrimmage kick." If a scrimmage kick off the ground goes through the uprights, it's a field goal. Technically, there is no rule that defines a field goal "attempt." You don't necessarily have to "attempt" a field goal when placekicking on a scrimmage down, but if your kick doesn't go through the uprights, the same rules apply as would for a missed field goal.
Yes either team can advance a kick that is recovered behind the line of scrimmage. When the ball is blocked the kickers can recover the ball behind the line and advance to score a touchdown rather than a field goal. The receivers can advance the kick beyond or behind the line.
Yes. In both college and the NFL, if a field goal attempt does not cross the line of scrimmage and is recovered by the kicking team, they will continue with possession of the ball. This ruling doesn't really come into play on 4th down kicks because the kicking team will lose possession of the ball on downs. But on third down, if a field goal attempt is blocked and the ball does not cross the line of scrimmage, should the kicking team recover the ball they keep possession and it will be fourth down. If the ball crosses the line of scrimmage, possession goes to the defense.
Yes. There is no rule specifing how far behind the line of scrimmage the kick must take place. Seven yards is usually used as it is the shortest distance behind the line of scrimmage that the kick can take place without fear of it being blocked, if the blockers do their jobs.
I assume you mean "field goal." Yes, this is possible, if the ball is blocked and never crosses the line of scrimmage, and the kicking team recovers. The kicking team could also recover the ball past the line of scrimmage if the kicking team touched the ball first.
still at the line of scrimmage anywhere you are on the field.
According the the nfl.com website once a field goal is missed the other team takes control of the football no matter what down it is.Here's the quote from nfl.com:All field goals attempted (kicker) and missed from beyond the 20-yard line will result in the defensive team taking possession of the ball at the spot of the kick. On any field goal attempted and missed where the spot of the kick is on or inside the 20-yard line, ball will revert to defensive team at the 20-yard line.Doesn't mention anything about downs. No. The reason you might sometimes see a team try for the field goal on 3rd down is in case of a bad snap or something they can spike the ball, throw to a receiver or just run with it and still have fourth down to try the field goal. If the ball fails to cross the line of scrimmage and the offense recovers, they get to kick it again. This usually only happens on a blocked kick. This applies on any down other than 4th. If the offense recovers on 3rd down, the next play would be 4th down. If the offense recovered on 4th down and didn't gain the necessary yards to make a 1st down, it would be a turnover on downs.The above answer is correct. As long as the ball does not cross the line of scrimmage on a blocked kick and the offensive team recovers the ball, the team may attempt another field goal as long as the blocked attempt did not occur on fourth down.
All passes, runs, and kicks are calculated from the line of scrimmage. It is the one arbitrary line that can be used as a universal point of reference without subjective decisions, and thus can be universally applied. The exception is the field goal; it is calculated from the location of the ball when kicked, except that if there is a penalty, it is still calculated from the line of scrimmage.
yes, the illegal man down field rule is only in effect on passes that cross the line of scrimmage