answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If a batted ball hits a runner, the ball is dead. The runner is out and any other runners return to the base they started on. The batter must re-bat.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-09-24 00:05:17
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When a batted ball hits a runner?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is a runner out if a fielder throws the ball and hits the runner?

No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.


If a batted ball hits a runner on third base but the ball hits the runner on the foot which is in foul territory is he still out?

No


Does a batter get credit for hit if the batted ball hits a base runner?

If a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, the runner is out, and the batter is credited with a single and takes 1st base


If a batted ball hits a runner and pops up in the air and a fielder catches the ball is the batter out also?

No...as soon as the batted ball touches the runner, the ball is dead.


What happens to the batter runner and other base runners if a batted ball hits a runner before passing an infielder?

If a runner is touched by a batted ball while off base before the ball passes an infielder (other than the pitcher), it's dead ball, runner is out. If the runner is on base when touched by a batted ball, it's live ball and play continues.


If a base runner is hit by a batted ball is he out if it goes past 2 fielders?

A Base runner is out anytime a batted ball hits him, unless he is touching a base.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the batter safe or out?

When a batted ball hits a runner, A) the runner is out for interference, unless B) the ball first touches a defensive player or an umpire, then the runner is not out and the ball is live, unless C) the umpire judges the runner deliberately made contact with the ball, whereupon the umpire may call the runner out for interference and may also call the batter out for the runner's interference.


Is a runner out if the ball hits them after the ball has hit a defensive player?

No. If a batted ball is touched by a defensive player before it touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out. Also, if a batted ball passes a fielder that could make a play on the ball and touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out. This situation is very rare and would only occur when the infield is playing in and are in front of the runner(s).


Can a base runner get in front of a fielder on a batted ball?

Yes, but if they are in fair territory and the ball hits them they are out.


Does the batter get a hit when the baseball he hits then hits the runner moving from 1st base to 2nd?

If a batted ball that a fielder has no chance to field hits a runner, the runner is called out and the batter is credited with a single.


Is the batter out in every circumstance when a batted ball hits a baserunner?

No. If a fielder has a legitimate opportunity to make an attempt at the ball, but the ball passes the fielder and then touches the runner, he is not out. The rules state a runner is out when a batted ball touches him before it passes a fielder.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the hitter safe or out?

The runner would be safe if the ball passes by a fielder other than the pitcher, out if hit before the ball has past a fielder.


Is a batted ball fair or foul if it strikes a runner while he is on base?

It depends. If a runner is in foul territory, and is hit with a batted ball, before the batted ball reaches 1B or 3B, then it's foul. But if a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, before passing an infielder other than the pitcher, time is called, the ball is dead, and the runner is declared out for interference. The batter is awarded 1B, but all other runners must return to the base they previously occupied.


What happens to the batter when the ball hits the runner?

If the runner is in fair territory then the runner is out. But if the ball hits the runner in foul territory, then it would just be a foul ball. If the ball hits the runner in fair territory, the runner is out but if the batter is safe to 1st then they would be safe.


Is the ball dead or live when a batter ball hits a runner?

It is a dead ball and the runner is out. If the ball hits two runners, only the first runner is out, because the ball is immediately dead when it hits the first runner.


Runner 1st and second baseball hit by batter hits runner on way to 2nd Who is out and are any bases awarded?

advancing runner struck by the batted ball is out.


What if a ball hits a baserunner while standing on a base?

Nothing, as long as the runner is touching the base. A runner is out only if touched by a batted ball that is still in play if he is off the base.


When a batted ball hits a runner for the third out how is the batter scored?

the batter is awarded a base hit.


What happens when a batted ball in fair territory hits a helmet that came off a base runner while running?

The runner is called out for interference.


If a batted ball hits a base runner who is on the bag but is in foul ground what happens?

If a baserunner is in foul ground and is hit by a batted ball, the ball is declared foul and all runners return to their previously occupied base, regardless of whether or not the runner that was hit was standing on the base.


Is the batter out if he hits the ball and it ricochets off of a runner and the ball is caught by a defensive player before it hits the ground?

Rules 6.08(d) and 7.08(f) say that if a fair batted ball hits a runner in fair territory before touching or passing an infielder, then the runner is out for interference. The ball is dead, and all runners must return to the base last occupied, unless forced by the batter who is awarded 1B. As soon as the ball hits the runner, it is dead, so it doesn't matter what happens...caught or not caught...after that.


If the ball hits the runner stealing home plate is he out?

No... The base runner is never called out when the ball is thrown and hits the runner ...


If the ball hits a runner is it a hit or a fielders choice?

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.


What is an rbi in softball?

An rbi is when there is a runner on a base and the hitter is at the plate and hits the ball and the runner that was on the base comes home and scores rbi = RUN BATTED IN


Is runner out if fielder does not field the ball and the runner is then hit by the ball?

If a runner in fair territory is struck by a batted ball prior to the ball having been fielded, the runner is out.