Best Answer

There were eight teams in the inaugural season of the National League (1876):

Philadelphia Athletics

Boston Red Stockings

Chicago White Stockings

Cincinnati Red Stockings

Hartford Dark Blues

Louisville Grays

New York Mutuals

St. Louis Brown Stockings

As of the 2007 season, the Chicago White Stockings, now the Chicago Cubs, and the Boston Red Stockings, now the Atlanta Braves, are the only two teams left of the original eight.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

The first World Series was played in 1903. The Boston Americans (now Red Sox) of the American League defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates of the National League.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What were the teams in the first year of the National League?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Why do American league teams play against national league teams?

Starting in 2013 there will be 15 teams in each league (currently there are 16 in the National League and 14 in the American League but Houston will be moving to the AL starting next year). Because there are an odd number of teams, there will always be one team from each league that will have to play outside their league.

When was the National League for baseball organized?

The first year of play for the National League was 1876.

How long has the Major League Baseball been held?

The first major league, the National Association, started in 1871. The National League's first year was 1876 and the American League's first year was 1901.

In what year did the Major League Baseball start in the USA?

Professional baseball in the USA has a continuous history from 1876, when the National League was founded, until today. A National Association existed from 1871 to 1875, but there is controversy on whether this was an actual league or not.

What is a charter member of a sports team?

A member of the team when the team began play for the first time or season or year.The term 'Charter member' is usually used with leagues or conferences. For example, the National League of baseball began play as a major league in 1876. The teams that played in the National League in 1876 would be considered 'charter members' because they played in the first year of the league. The National Football League began play in 1920. The teams that played in the NFL in 1920 would be considered 'charter members'.

When did baseball become a professional sport?

In 1869, the Cincinnati Baseball Club, better known as the Red Stockings, became the first all professional team. Two years later the National Association, the first major league of baseball, was formed.

What year was MLS Canada founded?

The MLS or Major League Soccer currently has 19 teams in its league. Three of those teams are Canadian. Toronto was the first to join in 2006 making that the year the MLS was founded.

What year did the cubs begin playing in the national league?

The Cubs franchise started play in the National League in 1876, the first season of the National League. At that time, they were known as the White Stockings.

When did baseball become known as Major League Baseball?

The first major league in baseball was the National Association whose first year was 1871.

What are the differences between the National League Conference and the American League Conference in American football?

First of all, you are confusing the terms national league and American league used in baseball with football. Replace the word league with football. NFL has the National Football Conference and American Football Conference. There really is no difference, the difference is very similar to the differences between the American League and National League in baseball. Both Conferences are at the same level of play, play for the world championship with one team represting each (league in baseball, conference in football) in the final round of the playoffs, and in both baseball and football, each team plays the majority of games in their own (league in baseball, conference in football), but still plays a few of their games against teams from the other league or conference. These conferences were created after the NFL merged with a competing top-level league in 1970, the AFL (American Football League). All teams in the NFC are either expansion teams created after the merger, or were in the NFL before the merger. In the AFC, three teams that were in the NFL moved to the AFC the year of the merger so both conferences would have the same number of teams. Other than those three teams, all AFC teams were in the AFL or are expansion teams created after the merger.

What team won the South African Premier Soccer League in 1994?

There were only a few teams to play in 1994 in the National Premier Soccer League (NPSL) and there were no champions that year. Orlando Pirates won the National Soccer League (NSL) in 1994. The two teams merged in 1996 to form the Premier Soccer League.

What year did Rube foster find the national negro league?

He didn't find it he founded it. The year was 1920. But there were black players playing long before this. The Lone Star Colored League was formed in 1897 with 8 teams.