Best Answer

The Boston Bruins, New York Rangers, Chicago Blackhawks, Montreal Canadiens, Toronto Maple Leafs, and the Detroit Red Wings.

I'm not sure that these six were the "original" NHL teams.

During the 1920's and 30's, the Ottawa Senators and the Montreal Maroons were a part of the league that had more than six franchises.


User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-04-23 19:02:38
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


1 card


See all cards
5 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What teams are associated with the 'Original Six'?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What period was the original six hockey teams?

the time period of the original six was from 1917-1967

Who is the only player to play for all six original nhl teams?

Bronco Horvath-That is incorrect-the only player to play for all Original Six Teams is Vic Lynn.

Original hockey teams?

the original six teams are: Toronto, Detroit, Montreal, Boston, New York rangers, and the Chicago blackhawks

When were the original six teams formed?

The "Original Six" refers to the teams that made up the NHL before the first major expansion in the 1960's. Actually, the term "Original Six" is somewhat misleading as it implies that the NHL was always made up of six teams prior to expansion in 1967. When the New York Americans folded at the end of the 1941/42 season, it left the league with six teams and it remained that way until expansion. Prior to 1942, the NHL had varying numbers of teams as members, not just the so-called "Original Six".

What were the earliest hockey teams?

The earliest hockey teams were called the original six and wereBoston_BruinsChicago_BlackhawksDetroit_Red_WingsMontreal_CanadiensNew_York_RangersToronto Maple Leafs

How was the Original Six formed?

The Original Six wasn't exactly "formed". Prior to 1941/42, the NHL had seven teams , (and sometimes more). When the New York(Brooklyn) Americans folded in 1941/42, it left the NHL with six teams and they operated that way until six new teams were added in 1967. So those six teams that played from1942 to 1967, ( Boston, Chicago, Detroit, New York Rangers, Montreal & Toronto) came to be referred to as the Original Six.

Who was the first America to play in the NHL with the original six teams?

Larry Pleau

Which nhl player played for the most of the original six teams?

Ron Stewart

Who is the oldest NHL team never to win the Stanley cup?

The NHL expanded from six teams to twelve teams in the 1967-68. All six of the 'original' teams have won a Cup. Of the six new teams, the Los Angeles Kings and St. Louis Blues have not won a Stanley Cup. As of the 2007-08 season, they would be the oldest teams not to have won a Cup.

What teams are the original 6?

The Original Six is a term for the group of six teams that made up the National Hockey League (NHL) for the 25 seasons between the 1942-43 season and the 1967 NHL Expansion. These six teams are the Boston Bruins, Chicago Black Hawks, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadiens, New York Rangers, and the Toronto Maple Leafs.

When were the original six NHL teams formed?

The Original Six is a term for the group of six teams that made up the NHL from 1942 until the 1967 expansion. The Original Six teams: Montreal Canadiens (founded 1909) Toronto Maple Leafs (charter member 1917) Detroit Red Wings (founded 1926) Boston Bruins (founded 1924) New York Rangers (founded 1926) Chicago Blackhawks (founded 1926) Source:

Who are the original six Hockey teams in the NHL?

The Original 6:Montreal CanadiensToronto Maple LeafsBoston BruinsNew York RangersDetroit Red WingsChicago Blackhawks

People also asked