Best Answer

The first MVP in a World Series was named in 1955. Since then, the following pitchers have been named World Series MVP: 1955 - Johnny Podres, Brooklyn Dodgers

1956 - Don Larsen, New York Yankees

1957 - Lew Burdette, Milwaukee Braves

1958 - Bob Turley, New York Yankees

1959 - Larry Sherry, Los Angeles Dodgers

1961 - Whitey Ford, New York Yankees

1962 - Ralph Terry, New York Yankees

1963 - Sandy Koufax, Los Angeles Dodgers

1964 - Bob Gibson, St. Louis Cardinals

1965 - Sandy Koufax, Los Angeles Dodgers

1967 - Bob Gibson, St. Louis Cardinals

1968 - Mickey Lolich, Detroit Tigers

1974 - Rollie Fingers, Oakland Athletics

1985 - Bret Saberhagen, Kansas City Royals

1987 - Frank Viola, Minnesota Twins

1988 - Orel Hershiser, Los Angeles Dodgers

1989 - Dave Stewart, Oakland Athletics

1990 - José Rijo, Cincinnati Reds

1991 - Jack Morris, Minnesota Twins

1995 - Tom Glavine, Atlanta Braves

1996 - John Wetteland, New York Yankees

1997 - Liván Hernández, Florida Marlins

1999 - Mariano Rivera, New York Yankees

2001 - Randy Johnson and Curt Schilling, Arizona Diamondbacks

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What pitcher was voted MVP in a World Series?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Who votes for the MVP of the World Series?

The World Series MVP is voted on during the last game of the series by a committee of reporters and officials in attendance.

What Phillies pitcher was the 2008 World Series MVP?

Cole Hamels

Who was MVP of the 1991 world series?

Jack Morris of the Minnesota Twins won the World Series MVP award in 1991.

MVP for 2008 world series?

It was Philadelphia Phillies pitcher Cole Hamels.

Who was the first baseball player to be named MVP of the World Series?

The first World Series MVP award was given out in 1955. It was won by Brooklyn Dodgers pitcher, Johnny Podres.

Did the 1946 world series have a mvp?

No, the Award started in 1955 when Dodgers pitcher Johnny Podres won it.

Who was the MVP for the Red Sox in their 1st World Series?

There was no MVP award given in the 1903 World Series, the first the Sox played in, so I will give the MVP to pitcher Bill Dinneen who started four games, winning three, with an ERA of 2.06 and two shutouts.

Who was the first relief pitcher to be named World Series MVP?

Larry Sherry of the 1959 Los Angeles Dodgers.

Who was MVP of the World Series in 2000?

Derek Jeter was the 2000 World Series MVP.

Name the first series MVP who was not a pitcher?

Bobby Richardson

How many World Series MVP's have been awarded?

The first World Series MVP award was in 1955.

Who was MVP of 1985 World Series?

Bret Saberhagen won the 1985 World Series MVP Award.