answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The umpire calls you out on next ball

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-07-11 06:57:11
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What penalty to batter if ball hits umpire?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does the batter improve to first if the ball hits the umpire?

nope. i wish!


If a batted popup hits an umpire in unfair territory and the catcher makes the catch off the umpire and before the ball hits the ground is the batter out?

yes


What does the umpire do when a batsman hits the ball to the boundary?

What does the umpire do when a batsman hits the ball to the boundary


What is the ruling for ASA fast pitch softball on a batter hitting the ball but the ball hits her hand as she hits the ball to the infield?

According to the rule book, the umpire will declare the pitch a strike if the ball touches the batter as the batter strikes at the ball, or if the ball touches the batter while the ball is in the strike zone.


What is Scoring rule when batted ball hits umpire?

If it hits the umpire behind home plate, it is a foul ball. If it hits a field umpire who is in bounds, then it is a live ball, meaning that the batter might be thrown out at first, or he might reach first base safely (and then this would be scored as a hit without an error),


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the batter safe or out?

When a batted ball hits a runner, A) the runner is out for interference, unless B) the ball first touches a defensive player or an umpire, then the runner is not out and the ball is live, unless C) the umpire judges the runner deliberately made contact with the ball, whereupon the umpire may call the runner out for interference and may also call the batter out for the runner's interference.


What is the penalty for the player if they step outside the batting box in softball?

If the batter hits the ball and their foot was out of the box at contact then the ball is immediately dead and the batter is out.


Is there a way the batter can reach first safely when the infield fly rule is in effect and the batter hits an infield fly?

No, as long as it is a fair ball. Once the umpire signals the infield fly rule the batter is automatically out. However, if the ball is dropped and is ruled a foul ball, the umpire reverses his call and the batter continues his turn at bat. Nevertheless, the batter can not reach first from that batted ball. You will often find an umpire state "Infield fly, Batter is out if Fair". When the rule is in effect, the batter may not get on first base.


A batter hits the ball its hits home plate then the batter?

it depends on whether the batter is still in the batter's box when the ball hits him. If he is in the batter's box then the ball is foul. If he is out of the batter's box and the ball hits him in fair territory then the batter is out.


Is the batter out when a dropped third strike goes into fair territory and hits the batter attempting to run to first base?

Only if, in the judgment of the umpire, the batter made deliberate contact with the ball.


If a batted ball hits the batter is he out?

If the ball hits the batter in fair territory, the batter is ruled out. If the ball hits the batter in foul territory or the batter's box, the call is a foul ball.


If the pitched ball hits the umpire is it a dead ball?

It depends. If the ball hits the umpire in the mask and stuns him. He will most likely call a dead ball or time. If he doesn't thoug. It is a live ball and still in play.

People also asked