Best Answer

England lost a series against Australia back in the 1800s and a death notice ad appeared in a london newspaper signifying the death of English cricket and the ashes would be brought back to Australia. The writer of this notice had a small urn that contained a bail (small wooden piece above wickets) burned to ashes signifying the death of English cricket. Therefore the ashes was born and Australia has won the majority of the contests since- so English cricket really did die. Someone remind them to stop inventing sports they can't win!!

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the story behind ashes test series?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What is story behind the cricket ashes?

The 'Ashes' are the ashes of the first bails used in the first cricket test between England and Australia.

Which country participates in the Ashes Cricket series?

Ashes Test series is played between Australia and England.

Is the Ashes test series a turning point in cricket history?

No, sometimes they go on tours to England for friendly tests. Your topic is: 'Ashes Tests". The Ashes series are only between Australia and England. But occasionally the two countries may play a test while on tour that is not Ashes related. Whoever answered above is probably an indian.... every single test between Australia and England is an Ashes Test. Correction: Ashes tests are five match series, if a series less than 5 match, that will not be a ashes (But i haven't seen it before )!

Where did the Ashes cricket was held?

ashes is a test series played between Australia and England and in both the countries

What is the test cricket series played between Australia and England called?

The Ashes.

Should you go for Australia in the upcoming "Ashes" test series?

ANSWER IS... YES! obviously.

When did Australia last win the ashes in England?

1986-87 was the last time England beat Australia in an Ashes series. The margin was 3-1 in the five test series However, England were the holders of the Ashes before that series, and therefore retained the Ashes, rather than won them. The last time England actually won the Ashes was in England in 1985 - again a 3-1 series victory

What is ashes cup in cricket?

The Ashes is a Test cricket series, played between England and Australia. It is one of international cricket's most celebrated rivalries and dates back to 1882. It is currently played biennially, alternately in England and Australia. A series of "The Ashes" now comprises five Test matches, two innings per match, under the regular rules for international Test-match cricket. If a series is drawn then the country already holding the Ashes retains them.

What is Famous cricket test series that is played between England and Australia?

its called the ashes

The famous test series The Ashes is played between which two countries?

England and Australia.

What test matches are the Australian cricketers due to play in the next three years?

ashes test series against england

How many tests are in the ashes series?

In total there are 5 test matches in the ashes series. But, in the 1997 Series 6 tests were played.