Best Answer

It is considered in a way, being you are in the batter's box. But the average of what you do with the swing of the bat is what counts in hits while in the box and in RBIs.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

well, it doesn't count as a hit. so if it was considered an at-bat it could ruin your avr.(average).

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the rule to why a walk do not count as an at bat?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Is a sacrifice a time at bat?

Any type of sacrifice, walk, or hit by pitch does not count as an at bat.

Does a base on balls count against your average?

No. A base on balls does not count as an at bat so the batter's average is the same after the walk as it was before the walk.

What is a walk?

4 pitched balls that are not strikes. runner advances to first base. does not count as an at bat or a hit.

What is the baseball rule when a batter is injured on a strike one foul ball and cannot continue his turn at bat?

A sub is put in for the injured player...the at bat is continued by the sub and begins his at bat with a one strike count......Anytime during an "AT BAT" the batter can be substituted for but the sub comes to bat with whatever the ball/strike count was of the player he replaced.

What is the rule in baseball if you skip a batter?

If the wrong batter completes the at bat, then the skipped batter is recorded as an out. If it is noticed prior to the completion of the at bat the skipped batter assumes the count of the at bat and completes with no additional penalties.

Batting average walks?

No. Walks do not count toward batting average. If you get a walk in your first at bat, you will still be 0-0.

If a softball player is at bat and the count is four balls and two strikes the play will do what?

if he gets a strike he is out. and after 4 balls you walk

Does a strike out count as an at bat?

Yes it does count

If in baseball you're up at bat and you get walked with bases loaded and a run is forced in how can you get an RBI when a walk doesn't count as an 'at bat'?

It still counts as a plate appearance, and as a result of your plate appearance (bases loaded walk), a run scored. Therefore you are credited with an RBI. A sacrifice fly doesn't count as an at-bat either, but RBIs are credited. Double-plays are counted as at-bats but they disqualify RBIs. "At-bats" have absolutely nothing to do with RBIs.

Does a pop fly count as an at bat?

no, it is basically the same is a walk, except if you are keeping statistics the abbreviation for a hit by pitch is HBP and is not filed under walks.

Does a player with an existing hitting streak maintain that streak if he makes four plate appearances and walks each time?

Yes. A walk does not count as an "at-bat"

If a batter throws the bat after being warned is he out and does a run scored on that play count when there are already two outs?

There is no rule that addresses a batter throwing the bat. It's a safety issue that the umpire must use his judgment on.